Results 1 to 19 of 19

Thread: Changing Aircraft Labels

  1. #1
    Supporting Member zoltann's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2013
    Location
    Dutch Austria
    Posts
    16
    Post Thanks / Like
    Total Downloaded
    88.74 MB

    Changing Aircraft Labels

    Hi guys,

    I am trying an ME109 Desastersoft campaign right now, but have trouble visualizing the enemy aircraft.

    I know there are multiple threats on this subject, but these measures do not help me much. I give up on that.

    So I want to fly with labels, which in COD show a lot of info (a/C type, range) which I do not want. (cheating enough already)

    Now in the old IL2 you could change the amound of info (shift I by default), way back, until only colored points were visible.


    Is this possible in COD?

    I could not find a keybinding for it, maybe some .ini file needs tweaking?



    Cheers, Zol.

  2. #2
    Ace 1lokos's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2012
    Posts
    5,323
    Post Thanks / Like
    Total Downloaded
    1.04 GB

    Re: Changing Aircraft Labels

    This is not available for keybinding like in il-2 1946.

    In il-2:CloD you need alter mp_dotrange console command.

    See this how to: http://www.airwarfare.com/sow/index....ons&Itemid=163

    To see colors you need some info enabled, perhaps range (distance of target).

    Example:

    Code:
    mp_dotrange TYPE .01 ID .01 RANGE 3 COLOR 1 DOT 20
    mp_dotrange FOE TYPE .01 ID .01 RANGE 3 COLOR 1 DOT 20
    You see dot at 20KM, range at 3 KM (to overcome LOD bug bellow this distance) and color (acting as friend or foe) at 1 KM.

    Type and ID are set to 1 meter, in practical terms, hidden.

    In game you can enable/disable this settings via console, set a short name for this, ie. 1 and 0.

    Sokol1
    Last edited by 1lokos; Aug-10-2013 at 10:00.

  3. #3
    Supporting Member zoltann's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2013
    Location
    Dutch Austria
    Posts
    16
    Post Thanks / Like
    Total Downloaded
    88.74 MB

    Re: Changing Aircraft Labels

    Thanks for the help 1lokos,

    I tried as in the link, and using the lines you typed.

    I used as rcu file:


    @set fast off
    @set echo on
    @set alias on
    @set history 20

    @alias a alias
    @a h history
    @a s show

    mp_dotrange TYPE .01 ID .01 RANGE 6 COLOR 1 DOT 20
    mp_dotrange FOE TYPE .01 ID .01 RANGE 6 COLOR 1 DOT 20
    timeout 60000 file icon.rcu
    @file icon.rcu



    after a lot of switching I somehow manage to activate it over the console.

    Q1. I then still do not get range at 6 km but still at 3 km altough I changed the setting. Why?

    Q2. Also, my wingmen are shown with full type. I do not understand as the first line says: mp_dotrange TYPE .01 ID .01 RANGE 6 COLOR 1 DOT 20
    with ID set at .01 I should not get an type report right? But I do.

    I would like to have an rcu in which range appears (the dots are smaller than the aircraft) at 8 km, friend or foe and in grey. No color change at any range, just the grey range to spot them. (Alternatively, only Type in grey for all A/C at 8 km or less, as range is also aiming info)

    I SUPPOSE that would look like this rcu:
    (By type recognicion)

    @set fast off
    @set echo on
    @set alias on
    @set history 20

    @alias a alias
    @a h history
    @a s show

    mp_dotrange TYPE 8 ID .01 RANGE .01 COLOR .01 DOT 20
    mp_dotrange FOE TYPE 8 ID .01 RANGE .01 COLOR .01 DOT 20
    timeout 60000 file icon.rcu
    @file icon.rcu

    Q3. Is that correct?

    Thanks in advance, Zol.

  4. #4
    Supporting Member zoltann's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2013
    Location
    Dutch Austria
    Posts
    16
    Post Thanks / Like
    Total Downloaded
    88.74 MB

    Re: Changing Aircraft Labels

    Well 1lokol,

    I tried and tried, but only using your code:

    mp_dotrange TYPE .01 ID .01 RANGE 3 COLOR 1 DOT 20
    mp_dotrange FOE TYPE .01 ID .01 RANGE 3 COLOR 1 DOT 20

    I manage to get it working.

    No custom changes, those will simply not show and stay in the default full dotinfo...

    Zol

  5. #5
    Ace 1lokos's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2012
    Posts
    5,323
    Post Thanks / Like
    Total Downloaded
    1.04 GB

    Re: Changing Aircraft Labels

    Zoltann

    Your last code are OK, I test here and get only type (aircraft name) starting to appear at 8km, in gray color:



    Your (edited) rcu files (in ...:\Documents\1C SoftClub\il-2 sturmovik cliffs of dover - MOD (supposed TF patched), should contain:

    Code:
    @set fast off
    @set echo on
    @set alias on
    @set history 20
    
    @alias a alias
    @a h history
    @a s show
    
    @file icon.rcu
    Notice the only @file icon.rcu was added to original rcu file.

    And you created icon.rcu file - in same folder:

    Code:
    mp_dotrange TYPE 8 ID .01 RANGE .01 COLOR .01 DOT 20
    mp_dotrange FOE TYPE 8 ID .01 RANGE .01 COLOR .01 DOT 20
    timeout 60000 file icon.rcu

    Check if your created icon.rcu file it's not icon.rcu.txt

    The easy way to create a icon.rcu is:

    Make a copy o rcu file, rename then to icon.rcu, now edit then and erase all lines, copy the above code (mp_dotrange...) for then, save and test.

    Sokol1
    Last edited by 1lokos; Oct-10-2020 at 11:12.

  6. #6
    Ace 1lokos's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2012
    Posts
    5,323
    Post Thanks / Like
    Total Downloaded
    1.04 GB

    Re: Changing Aircraft Labels

    If all OK, you can add ability to switch icons ON/OFF during flights:

    Edit your rcu again like:

    Code:
    @set fast off
    @set echo on
    @set alias on
    @set history 20
    
    @alias a alias
    @a h history
    @a s show
    
    @file icon.rcu
    @a i mp_dotrange TYPE 8 ID .01 RANGE .01 COLOR .01 DOT 20
    @a u mp_dotrange TYPE .01 ID .01 RANGE .01 COLOR .01 DOT 20
    Edit your icon.rcu for:

    Code:
    mp_dotrange TYPE .01 ID .01 RANGE .01 COLOR .01 DOT 20
    With this when game start you dont see icons.

    In game, to show icons open console (look in Options > Controls > Game > Activate Console what key is assigned, to easy access remap for only one key)

    Then type i (alias for mp_dotrange TYPE 8 ID .01 RANGE .01 COLOR .01 DOT 20), hit enter and the icons are turned ON. Close console.

    If desire hidden the again open console and type u (alias for mp_dotrange TYPE .01 ID .01 RANGE .01 COLOR .01 DOT 20), hit enter and icons are turned OFF. Close console.

    Keys i, u are suggestions, use what you desire, but avoid keys already done things like flaps, gear, radiators...

    I try created a macro with josytick button to open console, type u or i and close console, but seems that game dont allow external commands for open console...
    The best I get is open console with joystick button and hit i or u at the same time, but need two fast button press...

    The drawbak these ON/OFF is the pause in game when console is open...

    Sokol1
    Last edited by 1lokos; Aug-10-2013 at 22:52.

  7. #7
    Supporting Member zoltann's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2013
    Location
    Dutch Austria
    Posts
    16
    Post Thanks / Like
    Total Downloaded
    88.74 MB

    Re: Changing Aircraft Labels

    Yes, nailed it 1lokos!

    Did exactly as you wrote, works like a charm. I can now even activate it once action is likely, and enjoy uncluttered view till then, great.

    Thanks a lot for helping me out here..

    Zol.

  8. #8
    Ace 1lokos's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2012
    Posts
    5,323
    Post Thanks / Like
    Total Downloaded
    1.04 GB

    Re: Changing Aircraft Labels

    Glad to know it worked.

    Finally I mannaged to create a macro with Xpadder to change icons ON/OFF with only one joy button press that: open console (F11) press "i" or "u" and close console:


    Icon_toggle.jpg

    Need a delay of 0.01 ms between key press. Return key is to clear console before closing.

    The above macro will press "I" in the first button press, and "U" in the second, allowing toggle icons ON or OFF.

    With HOTAS software (Mannager, TARGET, SST...) you can achieve the same, or AutoHotkey.
    Last edited by 1lokos; Jul-29-2020 at 11:42.

  9. #9
    Novice Pilot
    Join Date
    Feb 2013
    Location
    Frankfurt/Germany
    Posts
    59
    Post Thanks / Like
    Total Downloaded
    56.30 MB

    Re: Changing Aircraft Labels

    Quote Originally Posted by 1lokos View Post
    Glad to know it worked.

    Finally I mannaged to create a macro with Xpadder to change icons ON/OFF with only one joy button press that: open console (F11) press "i" or "u" and close console:


    Need a delay of 0.01 ms between key press. Return key is to clear console before closing.

    With HOTAS software (Mannager, TARGET, SST...) you can anchieve the same.

    Sokol1
    olé
    really nice...

  10. #10
    Combat pilot
    Join Date
    Oct 2013
    Posts
    130
    Post Thanks / Like
    Total Downloaded
    186.38 MB

    Re: Changing Aircraft Labels

    Quote Originally Posted by zoltann View Post
    Hi guys,

    I am trying an ME109 Desastersoft campaign right now, but have trouble visualizing the enemy aircraft.

    I know there are multiple threats on this subject, but these measures do not help me much. I give up on that.

    So I want to fly with labels, which in COD show a lot of info (a/C type, range) which I do not want. (cheating enough already)

    Now in the old IL2 you could change the amound of info (shift I by default), way back, until only colored points were visible.


    Is this possible in COD?

    I could not find a keybinding for it, maybe some .ini file needs tweaking?



    Cheers, Zol.
    Zoltann, more than a year ago I bought Helmet Wick vs JC Dundas campaign by Desastersoft, do you know if their campaigns work with TF4.0?

    Thanks,
    Sabrefly.

  11. #11
    Ace 1lokos's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2012
    Posts
    5,323
    Post Thanks / Like
    Total Downloaded
    1.04 GB

    Re: Changing Aircraft Labels

    Sabrefly

    At moment is not advisable install Campaign done in previous versions of CloD due:

    http://theairtacticalassaultgroup.co...t=desastersoft

    Sokol1

  12. Likes Ardu liked this post
  13. #12
    Novice Pilot
    Join Date
    Jan 2015
    Posts
    57
    Post Thanks / Like
    Total Downloaded
    255.77 MB

    Re: Changing Aircraft Labels

    Great post.
    I made the changes as suggested and I believe the game is much better in solo play.
    I've just started playing the game with these mods. Don't know if the dots show before the text and then the text comes in when the aircraft are closer. Will see.
    (Would love to have even smaller text by the aircraft type, but that may just be too greedy!)
    This has been a very nice mod.
    Some time I might try to make the changes to turn it all on and off with a command. But want to try this first.
    Fantastic that the game is so pliable. And that you gentlemen are so knowledgeable.
    Thanks greatly!

  14. #13
    Veteran Combat pilot VII.Racetrack's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2014
    Posts
    285
    Post Thanks / Like
    Total Downloaded
    46.2 KB

    Re: Changing Aircraft Labels

    Quote Originally Posted by 1lokos View Post
    This is not available for keybinding like in il-2 1946.

    In il-2:CloD you need alter mp_dotrange console command.

    See this how to: http://www.airwarfare.com/sow/index....ons&Itemid=163

    To see colors you need some info enabled, perhaps range (distance of target).

    Example:

    Code:
    mp_dotrange TYPE .01 ID .01 RANGE 3 COLOR 1 DOT 20
    mp_dotrange FOE TYPE .01 ID .01 RANGE 3 COLOR 1 DOT 20
    You see dot at 20KM, range at 3 KM (to overcome LOD bug bellow this distance) and color (acting as friend or foe) at 1 KM.

    Type and ID are set to 1 meter, in practical terms, hidden.

    In game you can enable/disable this settings via console, set a short name for this, ie. 1 and 0.

    Sokol1
    What happen if I use this?

    ===============================================
    mp_dotrange TYPE .01 ID 0.5 RANGE .01 COLOR 15 DOT 25
    mp_dotrange FOE TYPE .01 ID 0.5 RANGE .01 COLOR 15 DOT 25
    ===============================================

    If I'm right I will see.

    Dot at 25 Km
    Dot Colour at 15 Km
    ID at 500 meters
    Type, and Range hidden..

    Am I right?

    As long as Type, Range and ID are hidden before 500 meters, what will I see colored Red or Blue? A small DOT over the plane? Or What?


    @ 1lokos : Dude many and many and many times I solved my problem reading your posts even in differet forums..

    THANK YOU VERY MUCH FOR YOUR EFFORT


    "Volare è utile, atterrare è necessario"
    www.settimostormo.it

  15. #14
    Ace 1lokos's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2012
    Posts
    5,323
    Post Thanks / Like
    Total Downloaded
    1.04 GB

    Re: Changing Aircraft Labels

    Quote Originally Posted by VII.Racetrack View Post
    What happen if I use this?

    ===============================================
    mp_dotrange TYPE .01 ID 0.5 RANGE .01 COLOR 15 DOT 25
    mp_dotrange FOE TYPE .01 ID 0.5 RANGE .01 COLOR 15 DOT 25
    ===============================================

    If I'm right I will see.

    Dot at 25 Km
    Dot Colour at 15 Km
    ID at 500 meters
    Type, and Range hidden..

    Am I right?
    Yes, you are right.

    BTW - ID is the "Maverick Trigger Happy"* part of the label.

    You really need this for enemy planes? For AI planes is useless and for MP dogfight/COOP will hamper the "fog of war".

    Distance and color (color act as IFF) is good compromise for help "Mr. Magoos".

  16. #15
    Veteran Combat pilot VII.Racetrack's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2014
    Posts
    285
    Post Thanks / Like
    Total Downloaded
    46.2 KB

    Re: Changing Aircraft Labels

    Quote Originally Posted by 1lokos View Post
    Yes, you are right.

    BTW - ID is the "Maverick Trigger Happy"* part of the label.

    You really need this for enemy planes? For AI planes is useless and for MP dogfight/COOP will hamper the "fog of war".

    Distance and color (color act as IFF) is good compromise for help "Mr. Magoos".
    Okay.

    What I obtained is to see the Player Name,ID and nothing else with this settings..

    mp_dotrange TYPE .01 ID 0.5 RANGE .01 COLOR 15 DOT 25
    mp_dotrange FOE TYPE .01 ID 0.5 RANGE .01 COLOR 15 DOT 25


    What I want is to hide everything except the Aircraft Colour (Red and Blue) so players on my server could fly 109 or Spitfire regardless the team.

    I want to see the Colour from 15 Km and the DoT from 25..

    But if I hide every write, how can I see the colour? Will I see only a small Red/Blue DoT over the plane?
    Last edited by VII.Racetrack; Dec-07-2016 at 03:52.


    "Volare è utile, atterrare è necessario"
    www.settimostormo.it

  17. #16
    Ace 1lokos's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2012
    Posts
    5,323
    Post Thanks / Like
    Total Downloaded
    1.04 GB

    Re: Changing Aircraft Labels

    The "dot" itself don't has color, is just the "." you see before planes LOD (more than 1 pixel) became visible.

    CloD DotRange.jpg

    So, for see color you need one of three parts of the "label" visible, the less intrusive part is the range (distance) indicator.

    mp_dotrange TYPE .01 ID 0.5 RANGE .01 COLOR 15 DOT 25
    mp_dotrange FOE TYPE .01 ID 0.5 RANGE .01 COLOR 15 DOT 25
    Your actual settings is for see the "." bellow 25KM and player nick/AI ID - in color - under 500 meters.
    The color is set for 15 Km, but no one of three possible parameters is visible above 500 meters.

    For see color need one of the three label parameters visible before or together with range, for example see only range (distance):

    mp_dotrange TYPE .01 ID 0.5 RANGE 15 COLOR 5 DOT 25
    mp_dotrange FOE TYPE .01 ID 0.5 RANGE 15 COLOR 5 DOT 25

    So

    At 25 Km you see the dot "." - at least in theory, depends on monitor resolution, adjust.
    At 15 km you start see the range, ex. 14.95 in black color.
    At 5 km you start see color (the "IFF"), in blue color for Luftwaffe/RAI e.g. 4.95 and for RAF in red, e.g. 3.45

    A realistic distance for color (the "IFF") is 3~5 Km, above this the plane silhouette is hard recognizable.
    Last edited by 1lokos; Dec-08-2016 at 14:47.

  18. #17
    Veteran Combat pilot VII.Racetrack's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2014
    Posts
    285
    Post Thanks / Like
    Total Downloaded
    46.2 KB

    Re: Changing Aircraft Labels

    Quote Originally Posted by 1lokos View Post
    The "dot" itself don't has color, is just the "." you see before planes LOD (more than 1 pixel) became visible.

    Attachment 25729

    So, for see color you need one of three parts of the "label" visible, the less intrusive part is the range (distance) indicator.



    Your actual settings is for see the "." bellow 25KM and player nick/AI ID - in color - under 500 meters.
    The color is set for 15 Km, but no one of three possible parameters is visible above 500 meters.

    For see color need one of the three label parameters visible before or together with range, for example see only range (distance):

    mp_dotrange TYPE .01 ID 0.5 RANGE 15 COLOR 5 DOT 25
    mp_dotrange FOE TYPE .01 ID 0.5 RANGE 15 COLOR 5 DOT 25

    So

    At 25 Km you see the dot "." - at least in theory, depends on monitor resolution, adjust.
    At 15 km you start see the range, ex. 14.95 in black color.
    At 5 km you start see color (the "IFF"), in blue color for Luftwaffe/RAI e.g. 4.95 and for RAF in red, e.g. 3.45

    A realistic distance for color (the "IFF") is 3~5 Km, above this the plane silhouette is hard recognizable.
    Actually I can see the name coloured.
    I mean the name of the Player in Online multiplay


    "Volare è utile, atterrare è necessario"
    www.settimostormo.it

  19. #18
    Ace 1lokos's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2012
    Posts
    5,323
    Post Thanks / Like
    Total Downloaded
    1.04 GB

    Re: Changing Aircraft Labels

    If you don't want see player names (ID) nor plane TYPE need leave RANGE visible.

    Change (same in foe):

    mp_dotrange TYPE .01 ID 0.5 RANGE .01 COLOR 15 DOT 25

    to:

    mp_dotrange TYPE .01 ID 0.01 RANGE 15 COLOR 15 DOT 25

    COLOR settings must be less or equals TYPE, ID or RANGE, but no more.

    This will show only red numbers, ex. 7.45 for RAF side and blue for Luftwaffe/RAI (like in my pictures).

    What I want is to hide everything except the Aircraft Colour (Red and Blue) so players on my server could fly 109 or Spitfire regardless the team.
    You want use color as "IFF", so a guy in red Spit can shoot at blue Spit?

    Labels has 3 parts:

    RANGE, TYPE, ID

    Example:

    10.00Spit:M@vEr!ckTrigg&rH@PpY


    But can be shorted for:

    10.00Spit

    or

    10.00:M@vEr!ckTrigg&rH@PpY

    or

    Spit:M@vEr!ckTrigg&rH@PpY

    Or

    10:00

    Or

    Spit

    Or

    M@vEr!ckTrigg&rH@PpY

    And any of this options can have the labels only in black color for both sides, or Blue and Red changing from black at given distance or colored at any distance.

    What fit for better for your purpose?
    Last edited by 1lokos; Dec-07-2016 at 12:31.

  20. #19
    Veteran Combat pilot VII.Racetrack's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2014
    Posts
    285
    Post Thanks / Like
    Total Downloaded
    46.2 KB

    Re: Changing Aircraft Labels

    Quote Originally Posted by 1lokos View Post
    If you don't want see player names (ID) nor plane TYPE need leave RANGE visible.

    Change (same in foe):

    mp_dotrange TYPE .01 ID 0.5 RANGE .01 COLOR 15 DOT 25

    to:

    mp_dotrange TYPE .01 ID 0.01 RANGE 15 COLOR 15 DOT 25

    COLOR settings must be less or equals TYPE, ID or RANGE, but no more.

    This will show only red numbers, ex. 7.45 for RAF side and blue for Luftwaffe/RAI (like in my pictures).

    This is perfect. I'm testing it! THank you


    "Volare è utile, atterrare è necessario"
    www.settimostormo.it

  21. Likes IMKozhedub liked this post

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •