PDA

View Full Version : Mission Wizard (alpha) proof of concept



Salmo
May-24-2014, 07:40
Following PStyle's valuable template threads HERE (http://theairtacticalassaultgroup.com/forum/showthread.php?t=10981), and note RedDog's suggestion about some sort of useful mechanism to manipulate mission object templates. Here's a "Mission Wizard" (couldn't think of a name - open to suggestions).

INSTALLING
1. This is a stand-alone exe. Create a folder where you want the exe to be located.
2. Extract the archive file into that folder. If you extracted correctly, you should have two files; MissionWizard.exe and library.ini
3. Run the program (exe). The first time you run it, the wizard will ask you set set the folder for where your mission object templates are located; and the folder where your script templates are located. These folders may have sub-folders for types of templates (unlimited object & script templates allowed).
4. Once you've set the folders for where your template files are located, you will see a tree on the left of the screen showing all your template files.
5. Simply use the arrow buttons to select (or deselect) which objects & scripts you want for your battle.

HOW TO ADD YOUR OWN AIRFIELD OR OBJECT TEMPLATE
1. Simply download a template file (mission file) from wherever you like & put it into a folder of your choice somewhere under your desigated 'objects' root folder.
2. Your template should appear in the wizard screen.

HOW TO ADD YOUR OWN SCRIPT TEMPLATE
1. Simply download a c# script file (*.cs file) from wherever you like & put it into a folder of your choice somewhere under your desigated 'script' root folder.
2. Your script template should appear in the wizard screen.

FEATURES

Works with all maps. The wizard uses the map associated with the first template file you select for your mission.
Imports stationary objects from template into your mission file.
Imports buildings objects from template into your mission file.
Imports frontmarker objects from template into your mission file.
Imports AiChiefs (animals/birds etc) objects from template into your mission file.
Imports spline roads objects from template into your mission file.
Imports spawn bases objects from template into your mission file.
Imports local weather front objects from template into your mission file.
Imports unlimited number of C# scripts into your mission file.
This is presented 'as-is', I make no guarantees it will suit your mission building & I'm not responsible for any consequences should it present problems.


LIMITATIONS
1. Does not work for 'custom airfield' template files (yet).

Download wizard HERE (https://www.mediafire.com/?8fxyt4di1cwgzxv) (107kb) [Ver0.4 beta]

http://i.imgur.com/xHgJhm2.jpg

ATAG_Snapper
May-24-2014, 08:28
This is brilliant! Looking forward to trying this! :thumbsup:

Mattias
May-24-2014, 10:16
Great initiative Salmo! :thumbsup:

69th_Spiritus_Mortem
May-24-2014, 12:36
Hey Salmo

First, thanks for this, looks promising.

Second, can we add templates besides airfields to this? I feel like this could be a huge help to people who are interested in mission building, thus possibly getting us more missions on ATAG.

Not sure about how mission builders feel about sharing their hard work but this could lead to more missions for us to enjoy by many more creative minds outs there that haven't taken the plunge in mission building because it really is a daunting task at first.

Salmo
May-24-2014, 13:51
<snip>Second, can we add templates besides airfields to this? <snip>

The intention is to make it generic enough that users can add template catagories of their choosing. That way they can hold templates of mission objects in a manner that is meaningful to them.

No601_Swallow
May-26-2014, 01:25
Second, can we add templates besides airfields to this? I feel like this could be a huge help to people who are interested in mission building, thus possibly getting us more missions on ATAG.



Don't see why not, so long as the templates consist of statics and buildings! So, flak emplacements, harbours... all good! As Salmo explains in the o.p., it's just buildings and statics - no airdromes/spawn areas! But maybe with a bit of fiddling... It'd be great if this could somehow scan a specified .mis file and lift the different sections out automatically. Goodness, I'm lazy!

[Of course, if it could do this, it could perhaps also lift air groups with their waypoints from the .mis file too! Wholesale .mis piracy! = bliss!]

Anyway, I love the enticing ambition of the "Library" sub-menu: submit to online library/ get latest library objects... Wouldn't that be great? I think this is the sort of thing Phil and Reddog (and myself, actually) have been groping towards. Many thanks for these ideas, Salmo.

No601_Swallow
May-26-2014, 02:15
9784:thumbsup:

Seems to work as advertised! (When saving the mission, the name will need the .mis bit).

As luck would have it, I've got quite a few statics/buildings templates in our airfield workshop (see sig). Makes this a very straightforward tool to work with.

:)

If this could also include the airdromes and birthplaces sections from the .mis file, it'd be really really really useful (and then perhaps splines, etc...). But even just the statics/buildings is potentially great. For instance, in my squadron, with mission builders of varying amounts of experience and patience, several of us more or less routinely use our airfields (airdromes) and spawn locations (birthplaces) for our own ops missions. But a lot of scenery gets missed out. While my fellow mission builders understand the principles of cutting and pasting, quite often they can't be bothered! So, an idiot-proof tool like Salmo's would be perfect.

Salmo
May-26-2014, 03:16
It'd be great if this could somehow scan a specified .mis file and lift the different sections out automatically.
My alpha-design putting mission file sections into a seperate ini file was a bad design. The next interation of this utility is underway & will include the ability to parse-out sections from seperate mission files.


Seems to work as advertised! (When saving the mission, the name will need the .mis bit).
Thanks for feedback.

No601_Swallow
May-26-2014, 03:21
But!

Slightly strange anomaly It seems that when there are both buildings and statics in that section in the library file, the wizard will put them together in the statics section in the .mis file.

For instance, here's a section from the "TP Croydon" part of the library file:

9785

And here's the resultant section from the mission file:

9786

In the FMB, this results in the fact that while the statics retain their "icons", the buildings appear without theirs:

9787

The buildings remain fully selectable and movable and deleteable, but it's a little strange. I haven't seen this before, and it adds further grist to the eternal question: what are buildings anyway? :D

Salmo
May-26-2014, 03:31
But!

Slightly strange anomaly It seems that when there are both buildings and statics in that section in the library file, the wizard will put them together in the statics section in the .mis file.... <snip>
Very alpha release to get further ideas & feedback, knocked out in a few hours. This issue will be fixed :salute:

No601_Swallow
May-26-2014, 04:33
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=gXN1yxax448

92 Sqn. Philstyle (QJ-P)
May-26-2014, 05:22
Salmo,

If I continue with my set of airfield templates, do you want to add them also?

I guess you can add subsets right? So the philstyle airfield templates could be selected, or templates made/submitted by others?

No601_Swallow
May-26-2014, 05:58
In case anyone's interested, and bearing in mind that hopefully things will progress (i.e. Salmo continues to go above and beyond the call...!) and the format may well change, here's the library I put together in about 20 minutes from some of the stuff in our "workshop", just as an experiment. So long as you've got a nice text editor and can Ctrl-C and Ctrl-V with gay abandon, it's easy stuff. The lines of text mount up though: this one's already more than 6000 lines long!

https://app.box.com/s/demrdza9qocnc8aa44zn

(Cluelessly, I tried to add another category of template: "Industrial", along with airfields and harbours. Didn't work, obviously!!)

Salmo
May-26-2014, 18:48
Salmo,

If I continue with my set of airfield templates, do you want to add them also?

I guess you can add subsets right? So the philstyle airfield templates could be selected, or templates made/submitted by others?

Phil,
Design has changed. users will be able to use any stand-alone mission-template. They'll be able to load any templet or combinatiuon of templates into a mssion file they're building. So to answer your question, yes, continue single airfield templates. There will be no need for a seperate step to incorporate into this utility. The user can just save the template (mission) file. Then use this utility to select the template to use in their mission.

Continu0
May-28-2014, 12:06
can't hear anything over how awesome people are around here...

Salmo
May-29-2014, 06:56
Thanks for the feedback everyone. New version released (0.2 alpha). See 1st post for DL link & substancial changes to the utility. :salute:

ATAG_Bliss
May-29-2014, 13:49
Thanks for the feedback everyone. New version released (0.2 alpha). See 1st post for DL link & substancial changes to the utility. :salute:

This is great Lee! Thank you :salute:

No601_Swallow
May-29-2014, 16:29
Getting better and better! :thumbsup:

(I've only tested it a couple of times, but so far the generated .mis file has an empty [Stationary] section (i.e. no static objects). The [Buildings] section is fine, as is indeed, the [Frontmarkers] section. It's very possible - likely even - that I'm doing something wrong, though.)

[It'd be super-fandabidozey if a future iteration could repeat the [Frontmarkers] trick with the [Airdromes] and [Birthplaces] sections. But I know that the [Airdromes] section in particular would cause problems, since - as Philstyle has established, each Airdrome has to have it's own name - at least they don't have to be manually renumbered as I'd thought. If there was a clever way of automatically adding, say, the .mis file's title to each Airdrome's name...Erm. Feature creep? Eek!]

No601_Swallow
May-30-2014, 01:30
A quite nice feature about the way it works at the moment is that if you've got scenery templates as text lists for statics and buildings (as we have in our forum), you can use a "blank" .mis file as a framework, that is a saved empty map (perhaps named "framework.mis" or some such.).

This, I think, is because the tool will use the first .mis file you include as the "base mission" (I think) and insert the bits of other .mis files into that one. At least, I think that's how it works. Thus, so long as you've saved your texts in your source folder with a .mis extension, they should work nicely. That's pretty cool and pretty flexible. Again, many thanks for trail-blazing, Salmo.

Salmo
May-30-2014, 04:08
.... but so far the generated .mis file has an empty [Stationary] section (i.e. no static objects). ....

No-stationarys bug fixed. Download link in 1st post updated. Download wizard again Swalllow.

No601_Swallow
Jun-02-2014, 06:10
Getting shinier! :D (Nice toolbar!)

Many thanks for fixing the statics thing, Salmo! :thumbsup:

No1_Jacko
Jun-03-2014, 10:41
Folks,
I downloaded and managed set up some folders with mis files loaded but when I tried to create a mission by selecting a map and an airfield. I found the generated mis file and opened it thee was the basic map info and a section named Template wheer the mis file names for the map and the airfied sat. So no detail for objects with nothing for CloD to work with. Maybe I mised a step.

No601_Swallow
Jun-04-2014, 05:03
Jacko, if you're using our "partial" templates (renamed as .mis files), you've got to make sure the first mission is a complete one. If I load, say an old ops mission, plus scenery from various airfields (statics and buildings) it compiles everything into a new .mis file fine. I haven't actually tried with two complete .mis files yet, but I wouldn't think it'd be a problem. It doesn't load airfield and spawnpoint data, though.

No1_Jacko
Jun-04-2014, 07:10
Thanks Swallow, I am sure its a basic error on my side, I will try it again tonight

No601_Swallow
Jun-04-2014, 11:03
It might be worth downloading it again. I've been trying out the MissionLibrary.exe. It's prettier than the MissionWizard.exe.

No1_Jacko
Jun-04-2014, 12:59
I think I follow it now, When I used one of Phil's templates it created a mis file with the buildings and statics and not the spawn points. So it will b really neat when that gets implemented

Cheers

Salmo
Jun-05-2014, 04:12
Just use "whole" mission files with this utility guys. The wizard will look at the first file in the list of files you select & use that mission file's map when constrcuting your mission fro the templates. I suggest have one 'blank' mission file for each game map & using that file as the first in your selected list.

Spawn bases, spline roads etc haven't been forgotton. I will get to them as soon as I can.

Salmo
Jun-11-2014, 03:20
First post & DL link updated. Wizard now imports stationary objects, buildings objects, frontmarker objects, AiChiefs (animals/birds etc), spline roads, spawn bases, and local weather front objects from templates. Enjoy. :salute:

nacy
Jun-12-2014, 18:11
probléme avec Wizard.exe

http://i39.servimg.com/u/f39/18/08/15/97/115.jpg (http://www.servimg.com/image_preview.php?i=356&u=18081597)

http://i39.servimg.com/u/f39/18/08/15/97/215.jpg (http://www.servimg.com/image_preview.php?i=355&u=18081597)

Salmo
Jun-12-2014, 19:26
probléme avec Wizard.exe

http://i39.servimg.com/u/f39/18/08/15/97/115.jpg (http://www.servimg.com/image_preview.php?i=356&u=18081597)

http://i39.servimg.com/u/f39/18/08/15/97/215.jpg (http://www.servimg.com/image_preview.php?i=355&u=18081597)

Merci pour le rapport d'erreur nacy. Pardonnez mon google-translation français. Il semble que vous devez aller dans le menu des options et sélectionnez le dossier où se trouvent vos modèles et de scripts.

Thankyou for the error report nacy. Forgive my google-translation French. It looks like you need to go to the options menu and select the folder where your templates and scripts are located.

No601_Swallow
Jun-13-2014, 18:01
Seems to work fine! Superb stuff.

Now, I'm just wondering about (my own personal obsession) the [airdromes] section of .mis files, which deals with "airfields", runways and associated spawning patterns.

My own way of combining [airdrome] sections from different missions was to re-number (carefully and painstakingly - i.e. it takes a bit of concentration!) each individual "airdrome", both in the "list" part that starts the [airdromes] section, and in the "details" section. BUT! Philstyle showed that this is unnecessary if you've already given each "airdrome" a name - presumably referring to the location or - better - the mission's name. Once the names of the "airdromes" are different, the mission file accepts them all.

Annoyingly this fussing about isn't necessary with most of the other sections, since the location markers in the "names" of the objects seems to serve to differentiate each from the others. Why this isn't true for "airdromes" is a mystery...

So... if I was writing a beautiful little program such as the "Wizard", I'd wonder if it was possible to get the program to rename the airdromes... For instance:

Here's an [airdromes] section from a simple little .mis file called "adlerhorst.mis", which only has one airfield and one spawning pattern:


[Airdromes]
airdrome0 211553.69 294753.06 2 1000 700 0
[airdrome0_Runways]
211554.24 294631.81 0.00 1000.00 50.00 0
[airdrome0_Points]
211036.35 294620.58 8 1
211036.32 294562.13 6 4 2
211256.71 294552.94 3
211259.71 294474.42
211208.41 294538.04 5
211208.42 294473.18
211167.29 294525.41 7
211165.70 294471.65
211029.39 294654.37 13 11 9
211327.60 294732.72 10
211351.26 294780.95
211282.33 294748.11 12
211314.06 294797.70
211024.30 294669.16 14
211023.40 294706.58


I wonder if it would be possible for the program to find the lines with the text "airdrome...'n' ", here "airdrome0" but also using whatever number follows the word "airdrome", and add the name of the mission, so "airdrome0" becomes "airdrome0adlerhorst". Now, the names of the airdromes in each mission become unique!

Thus the .mis file becomes:


[Airdromes]
airdrome0adlerhorst 211553.69 294753.06 2 1000 700 0
[airdrome0adlerhorst_Runways]
211554.24 294631.81 0.00 1000.00 50.00 0
[airdrome0adlerhorst_Points]
211036.35 294620.58 8 1
211036.32 294562.13 6 4 2
211256.71 294552.94 3
211259.71 294474.42
211208.41 294538.04 5
211208.42 294473.18
211167.29 294525.41 7
211165.70 294471.65
211029.39 294654.37 13 11 9
211327.60 294732.72 10
211351.26 294780.95
211282.33 294748.11 12
211314.06 294797.70
211024.30 294669.16 14
211023.40 294706.58

The program could then, perhaps combine the newly unique [airdromes] sections in the same wonderful way it's doing with birthplaces, buildings, stationaries, etc...

Obviously, I'm witless and couldn't do this if you pointed a gun to my head. I have no idea if this is possible. But, just suggestin'....! :thumbsup:

10180

=FI=Murph
Jun-17-2014, 12:34
Do you plan to eventually include a feature that combines script files? I think that would be really useful for us "script code challenged" mission builders. Or perhaps some knowing person could create a separate utility that does this? Anyways thanks for all your hard work on getting this particular project going.

Salmo
Jun-17-2014, 20:49
Do you plan to eventually include a feature that combines script files? I think that would be really useful for us "script code challenged" mission builders. Or perhaps some knowing person could create a separate utility that does this? Anyways thanks for all your hard work on getting this particular project going.

Yes. The intention is to find a way for non-coders to pick from a "library" of scripts & for the wizard to combine the selected scripts for your mission. So users could select "Despawn Ai aircraft 2 minutes after landing & aslo "ambulances at airfields for injured pilots". This is not as easy to do as it sounds from a programming perspective. But that's the aim anyway. :salute:

=FI=Murph
Jun-17-2014, 23:32
Fantastic! I hope you are able to figure this out.

92 Sqn. Philstyle (QJ-P)
Jun-21-2014, 10:04
Hi Salmo,

I'm keen to know if you plan to add the Aerodromes sections too (see post from Swallow too).

This would be an excellent addition..... wink, wink....

Salmo
Jun-29-2014, 21:48
Hi Salmo,

I'm keen to know if you plan to add the Aerodromes sections too (see post from Swallow too).

This would be an excellent addition..... wink, wink....

I'm a little busy with RL at the moment. Yes, I do plan this Phil. :salute:

No601_Swallow
Jul-21-2014, 15:59
[Mini-bump]

Salmo
Jul-21-2014, 23:46
Got 3 days off work starting tomorrow. Hope to have something for you soon. :salute:

Salmo
Aug-19-2014, 07:59
Next iteration of the wizard is available. In this version it's now possible to select "C# script templates" as well as "mission object templates". The wizard will automatically load all selected objects & compile them into a mission file, as well as write all the C# code necessary to launch the selected C# scripts from your mission. That's right! NO C# CODING! The wizard will do all the coding work for you. 1st post updated with details.

ATAG_Colander
Aug-19-2014, 10:27
:thumbsup:

Otyg
Aug-19-2014, 10:49
Oh so now even a monkey like me can do a mission? :O Amazing work!

RCAF Rob
Aug-19-2014, 11:39
Excellent news! Time to start writing.

Mysticpuma
Aug-19-2014, 12:59
Next iteration of the wizard is available. In this version it's now possible to select "C# script templates" as well as "mission object templates". The wizard will automatically load all selected objects & compile them into a mission file, as well as write all the C# code necessary to launch the selected C# scripts from your mission. That's right! NO C# CODING! The wizard will do all the coding work for you. 1st post updated with details.

If this could be added to the Menu Screen.....this would be a great help for players?

ATAG_Ezzie
Sep-18-2014, 17:22
Thanks for this Salmo et al,

I've got the mission building bug again and today is day #2 of working on a mission/map that I hope will eventually end up on the ATAG server if it works out and is deemed suitable.

Am intending to download this tool later today and just wanted to check whether there's a new version just round the corner? If there is I will hang off downloading until its out. If not I'll download and get cracking.

Thanks in advance for all your collective work on this so far.

Ezzie

hipparch
Dec-30-2015, 04:27
Following PStyle's valuable template threads HERE (http://theairtacticalassaultgroup.com/forum/showthread.php?t=10981), and note RedDog's suggestion about some sort of useful mechanism to manipulate mission object templates. Here's a "Mission Wizard" (couldn't think of a name - open to suggestions).

INSTALLING
1. This is a stand-alone exe. Create a folder where you want the exe to be located.
2. Extract the archive file into that folder. If you extracted correctly, you should have two files; MissionWizard.exe and library.ini
3. Run the program (exe). The first time you run it, the wizard will ask you set set the folder for where your mission object templates are located; and the folder where your script templates are located. These folders may have sub-folders for types of templates (unlimited object & script templates allowed).
4. Once you've set the folders for where your template files are located, you will see a tree on the left of the screen showing all your template files.
5. Simply use the arrow buttons to select (or deselect) which objects & scripts you want for your battle.

HOW TO ADD YOUR OWN AIRFIELD OR OBJECT TEMPLATE
1. Simply download a template file (mission file) from wherever you like & put it into a folder of your choice somewhere under your desigated 'objects' root folder.
2. Your template should appear in the wizard screen.

HOW TO ADD YOUR OWN SCRIPT TEMPLATE
1. Simply download a c# script file (*.cs file) from wherever you like & put it into a folder of your choice somewhere under your desigated 'script' root folder.
2. Your script template should appear in the wizard screen.

FEATURES

Works with all maps. The wizard uses the map associated with the first template file you select for your mission.
Imports stationary objects from template into your mission file.
Imports buildings objects from template into your mission file.
Imports frontmarker objects from template into your mission file.
Imports AiChiefs (animals/birds etc) objects from template into your mission file.
Imports spline roads objects from template into your mission file.
Imports spawn bases objects from template into your mission file.
Imports local weather front objects from template into your mission file.
Imports unlimited number of C# scripts into your mission file.
This is presented 'as-is', I make no guarantees it will suit your mission building & I'm not responsible for any consequences should it present problems.


LIMITATIONS
1. Does not work for 'custom airfield' template files (yet).

Download wizard HERE (https://www.mediafire.com/?8fxyt4di1cwgzxv) (107kb) [Ver0.4 beta]

http://i.imgur.com/xHgJhm2.jpg

The download link is invalid, who could prefer a new adddress?

Salmo
Dec-30-2015, 04:47
This was a "proof of concept" program to see if it was possible to merge mission template files into one mission to make mission building easier. The link was taken doen by the author (me) after the concept was proves successful. Someone in the community may have a copy of the program they can give you.

BOBC
Jul-20-2017, 16:00
This was a "proof of concept" program to see if it was possible to merge mission template files into one mission to make mission building easier. The link was taken doen by the author (me) after the concept was proves successful. Someone in the community may have a copy of the program they can give you.

Salmo, This was looking EXCEPTIONALLY USEFUL.

Will there be a working version we can all use ?

meanwhile is it a case of copy pasting e.g the coding text for Hawkinge.mis , a file featuring accurate Hawkinge airfield, below the code for Ju88 attack Hawkinge.mis which features the default Hawkinge airfield.
is that what the wizard did, simply grab the code and add it into a new .mis file code in a copy paste sort of way ?

I have tried that and it fails, instead its a case of carefully comparing and copying coding [category] by [category], (note the deliberate box brackets, representing how these categories appear)and not copying anything that doesnt relate to the particular mission such as aircraft and squadrons etc .

For the moment, to separate out chunks of coding, is there wording and symbols that can be used within the mis file that dont affect the coding, for example
<<---below is Hawkinge accurate airfield building code--->>

Cheers

BOBC