PDA

View Full Version : Escaping a 109 and trim

Anjelus
Jun-02-2014, 02:00
Firstly, could someone link me to where I can learn about how to properly set trim at various stages of flight in a Spitfire Ia?

Secondly, I am new to all this and get bounced quite frequently. It's no fun! Operating under the assumption that I'll continue to be bounced, what's the best way to react, assuming I survive the initial attack? I've tried diving and running, but a 109 can just follow me down and it doesn't help much. Should I turn into him and try to out turn? The only problem with that is I'm complete fail at flying right now and my attempts at sharp turns in a Spitfire usually end in me stalling and losing altitude.

Tips? :)

Robo.
Jun-02-2014, 03:28
Firstly, could someone link me to where I can learn about how to properly set trim at various stages of flight in a Spitfire Ia?

Secondly, I am new to all this and get bounced quite frequently. It's no fun! Operating under the assumption that I'll continue to be bounced, what's the best way to react, assuming I survive the initial attack? I've tried diving and running, but a 109 can just follow me down and it doesn't help much. Should I turn into him and try to out turn? The only problem with that is I'm complete fail at flying right now and my attempts at sharp turns in a Spitfire usually end in me stalling and losing altitude.

Tips? :)

Hello mate and wlcome to the game. Focus on the rudder trim and keep the slip indicator arrow vertical at all times during the cruise flight / climb, it helps a lot with speed and stability. In actual combat, trim is not as important, I personally tend to reset it back to neutral and work with my feet to have no slip, especially when shooting. But that is up to you. In Spitfire, I don't use elevator trim much in the RAF planes, but some pilots might do.