PDA

View Full Version : SPOILER ALERT! RAF Campaign Mission 8 - need help

fury spitfire
Jul-02-2014, 18:28
On the way to Manston, to transfer to your new Spitfire squadron, you are jumped by 4 109's.
Every time I play this mission, my number 2 has 'engine problems' shortly after take-off and crashes into the ground, leaving me to ponder my existence on my own.
About a third of the way to Manston, the 109's drop down behind me and start shooting, which is all well and good but I don't have any ammo.
Is this intentional because I could swear saw a youtube video of this mission where the pilot had ammo and could fight back, maybe I'm doing something wrong? Do I need to load ammo on the ground somehow? Or is that a total noob question..

heinkill
Jul-03-2014, 01:22
No newbs here...welcome!

Ah yes...the default RAF campaign...that way madness lies.

You can't load ammo. You have to dodge the 109s by ignoring the waypoints and flying north first, then east to Manston. After all, why would you fly an unarmed kite along the front line?

My old AAR is here...

http://simhq.com/forum/ubbthreads.php/topics/3388148/Re:_Luftwaffe_AND_RAF_campaign#Post3388148

BTW the RAF campaign is broken, with missing targets and waypoints later in the campaign and a totally mental unrealistic plot. There are plenty of user made alternatives to the stock campaigns for both the TF mod and unmodded versions including...

http://theairtacticalassaultgroup.com/forum/showthread.php?t=4430

Others at the top of this forum. There is a reason we redid the stock campaigns. They are full of bugs. And dumbness.

Cheers,

H

fury spitfire
Jul-03-2014, 03:25
Thanks for your help but I'm using your REDUX Campaign..
I wouldn't touch stock with a bargepole after having my dreams smashed in 2011 at release.

I'll try ignoring the waypoints and going another way.
Sometimes I'm never quite sure of the objective rules. Am I allowed to deviate from the path?