PDA

View Full Version : Rudder Pedals.

7./JG26_SMOKEJUMPER
Feb-11-2015, 01:41
Hi guys,

This time I think I'm posting in the correct forum even if it is technical in nature.

It's time for me to have a serious look at rudder pedals. I spend a great deal of time flight simming and I love it.

The crew here is great. I love the theatre of war and both sides main fighter aircraft are personal favorites. I'm primarily a fighter pilot.

Anyway, tonight I was chasing a Spitfire and while I did get him down I was wasting ammo when I was using left rudder to adjust my lead. With a twist stick like my X55 it can be quite stiff. I'm a scaffolder so can move it well but it ruins my shot while fine tuning often enough that it's time to look at a good set of pedals.

I need them to be tough. I'm a big dude so don't want to smash them during a dogfight. I can't help it my whole body tenses up when in a tight fight. I can imagine putting a lot of force on a set of pedals.

So what do you guys have and I'd like your opinions please. I saw some mod thread once that beefed a set up. I don't mind doing that but I can't seem to find it again.

Thanks all!

ATAG_Dave
Feb-11-2015, 04:03
Currently using a set of Saitek Combat rudder pedals which seem to be a popular choice.

Gromit
Feb-11-2015, 04:51
I have CH pedals and they are excellent, no twitch or flutter, well made and smooth!

hnbdgr
Feb-11-2015, 06:08
I have CH pedals and they are excellent, no twitch or flutter, well made and smooth!

+1 but I had to remove the center detent on them, that was driving me nuts.

ATAG_Lolsav
Feb-11-2015, 06:19
I have the cheapest Saitek Rudder pedals and, after 3 years of heavy use, i can state im pleased with them. I fly with my bear foot (only socks or fluffy slipers) to get most sensivity when it comes to smooth input and aim. I do know a quite few more virtual pilots who do the same. If you havent tryed it, do it, it gives you a extra precision.

Black034
Feb-11-2015, 06:55