PDA

View Full Version : Eagle's Bomber Academy

71st_AH_Eagle
Jun-22-2015, 10:17
With the bomber campaigns running, there are probably some of you out there who want to learn how to fly bombers but don't know how to. So, I'm starting this Academy to train new bomber pilots and get them ready for the bomber campaigns and/ or just wanting to learn how to fly and use bombers in regular play. With that being said, bomber pilots make history while fighter pilots make movies. :P

Just a quick about me: I am Eagle and I pretty much only fly bombers. The Blenheim IV is my current choice of aircraft for the red side and the Ju-88 is my choice of aircraft for Blues. Once the Wellington comes out, I'll be flying that a lot (thanks Team Fusion). I never had a knack for air to air combat but I've greatly enjoyed flying bombers, almost from day one of this game. I'm an aerospace engineering student in real life so my studies come first but I will try my best to work around that.

I'm open for either group teaching or one on one training, what ever you prefer. My current idea is to do three separate training sessions breaking down as follows:

1. Aircraft Introduction and Flight

Go over a brief history of the aircraft and its primary uses during the Battle of Britain and beyond.
Basic overview of all the weapons that the aircraft can carry and their uses
Go over start up procedures in game and ensure mastery of it
Explain the differences between flying a bomber and a fighter
Explain axis curvature for bomber pilots
Take off and go over engine management for various situations relating to the aircraft
Fly the various situations
Introduce the autopilots and a basic intro to formation flight
Go over navigation if needed

2. Basic Combat Operations

Go over a list of keybindings required for the individual aircraft
Take off and head to a practice target (this will not being taking place on ATAG server)