PDA

View Full Version : Only 20 E4/N were ever built.

KansasCS
Mar-17-2016, 07:46
I did not know that.

Seems like were are constantly flying all of them on a friday night ;)

https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Messerschmitt_Bf_109_variants#E-4

hnbdgr
Mar-17-2016, 09:33
Yes the numbers were lower then E4 standard. Though wiki says "15 E-4/N and 20 E-4/BN". Also I'm no expert, but I think additional ones might have simply been field upgrades. Ideally there would be an in-game mechanic restricting E4/n to a limited number of planes, not sure if it's possible to achieve.

Also, one has to understand what is in game is not an exact representation of the configurations that existed. For instance some E4's were fitted with 601A, others with the more powerful 601Aa. In game we have 601A in E3/E4 and 601Aa in E3/b E4/b etc.

GERMANWOLF
Mar-17-2016, 09:35
lol,only 20 units....

ZG15_robtek
Mar-17-2016, 09:35
better you read slower next time :-P

there were 15 E4N and 20 E4BN build according to that page. :-)
Also there is written that the only difference from E4N to E7N was the optional 300l droptank on the E7.:devilish:
The conclusion is that a E7N without the tank is practically a E4N, and there were hundreds of E7N build.:)

RAF74_Buzzsaw
Mar-17-2016, 15:47
It's up to the mission builders to put in the appropriate ratio of aircraft of a particular type in their mission.

TF just builds the aircraft which were present at the time of the BoB.

There was an entire Gruppe of 109's equipped with the E-3N, E-4N, E-7N during the time period of the BoB... that is approx. 30-40 aircraft. (III/JG-26 "Schlageter", commanded by Adolf Galland)