PDA

View Full Version : il2 skinner wishes to skin COD

dog1
Oct-24-2017, 06:35
hello
i have COD since a year now and with the upcoming update 5.0 i wish to skin here as well . I have 1 years intensive experience skining and template making 1024 and 2048 res (not HD) with IL2 series but i do not know how to make HD templates or skins for this sim so i'm looking for templates and basic tutorial to start practising . cheers

major_setback
Oct-24-2017, 07:47
These are the official templates (see link).
- In order to make them multi layered you need to create your own layer for each colour of the camouflage (use masks and it will be easier to make corrections).
- Rivets and panel lines are added by the game. No need to make them.
- Certain parts of the aircraft are locked so you can't paint them (inside of flaps, undercarriage, tyres)
- A lot of trial and error is needed to achieve passable colours. Colours will not look the same in-game as they will in Photoshop (etc.). If you lighten or darken a colour in Photoshop then it will change hue/colour when loaded in-game, so again a lot of trial and error is required.
- Colours work differently on each aircraft type, so once you have found a colour that works it will only be applicable to one type (though Spitfire and Hurricane have similar colour), so you need to re-do the colours from scratch when each aircraft type is skinned.. you can't just copy colours that worked well on another aircraft type.

Official single layered templates:

https://www.dropbox.com/s/wot35qmq36in4ou/templates%20both%20types%20zipped.zip?dl=0

Forum member CheckMySix / KeefyBoy has made multi layered templates. You might find these useful:

http://forum.1cpublishing.eu/showthread.php?p=707488

Cheers, major_setback

BOO
Oct-24-2017, 07:56