PDA

View Full Version : A TV for and Monitor

92 Sqn. Philstyle (QJ-P)
Mar-26-2013, 10:17
Hi folks,

I'm a total novice when it comes to display hardware, and so, having seen some threads recently on these forums about such items, I thought I'd pool your collective knowledge to meet my own selfish ends.

I've currently got a Monitor which has 60Hz refresh and will support 1900x1080. I run windows and the game in this resolution.

Now, if I were to buy a larger screen that was NOT a PC monitor, bur rather a video-wall or a TV, would the resolution capability of that device restrict my game resolution, in the same way that the PC monitor does?

For example: This screen - which is a "video wall": http://www.samsung.com/uk/consumer/pc-peripherals/professional-lfd-displays/accessible/LH32MGQLBC/EN
The website indicates that it is capable of only 1366 x 768 (16:9) resolution. However, it's really a TV/ video device - so can windows/CloD still be set to run in 1900x1080, even thought the device has lower resolution?

I hope my questions are clear... I really am a complete novice here, so please treat my lack of understanding gently.

III./ZG76_Keller
Mar-26-2013, 12:15
Hi Philstyle, I would not recommend that display.

There are differences between computer monitors and televisions/commercial displays and I don't think you'd be happy with that display.

Computer monitors are designed to be viewed close up so their pixels are much smaller than the pixels in televisions. Also, going down from 1920 to 1366 will mean a substantial loss of quality.

For example, a 24" computer monitor that is 1080p and a 70" Television that is 1080p have the exact same amount of pixels, so since the 70" TV is much bigger so are the pixels. You will not be able to run 1080p on a 1366 monitor.

What size monitor do you have right now?

92 Sqn. Philstyle (QJ-P)
Mar-26-2013, 13:21
What size monitor do you have right now?

Cheers for the feedback Keller. My monitor is 24" right now.