PDA

View Full Version : Spitfire engine cut out under negative G

Wulf
May-25-2013, 02:10
Does anyone know if the 'manner' in which a Spitfire's engine cuts out in the game, when subjected to negative G, is an accurate representation? Although I'm not an engineer or anything like it, I'd have thought that if the carb(s) are connected to the cylinders via some sort of inlet manifold (that may also incorporate a supercharger of some sort) wouldn't it be more likely that there's be some degree of stutter, splutter or coughing as fuel starvation occurs. It just seems so incredibly binary at present.

Roblex
May-25-2013, 02:42
I don't know the technicalities but I would expect the effect to be fairly immediate. When you shut the throttle the response to reduced fuel flow is immediate so surely stopping all fuel from entering an engine that is firing and exhausting 28000 times a minute would kill it very quickly. Remember, neg-g does not just stop fuel flowing to the float chamber, it removes it from the chamber so nothing is entering the cylinder.

Have a look at the first 30 seconds of the 'Battle Of Britain' film and watch the engine cut out immediately during a simple inversion. You will also see the black smoke caused by the engine flooding as he comes right way up again.

http://youtu.be/9BCl8RuME-M

ATAG_Snapper
May-25-2013, 06:21
Interesting question, Wulf. I tend to agree with Roblex for the reasons he gave.

I have an old carb-fed V-Twin Harley (yeah, I know, hardly a big supercharged V-12 water-cooled Merlin) that's been bored, stroked, cammed, ported, and a larger-throated, very old fashioned gravity-fed carb hung on it. At least the early Merlins and my old Harley don't have Miss Shilling's orifice installed, so that's ONE thing they have in common. LOL