PDA

View Full Version : A quick guide to patch up CloD from CD to the last Team Fusion update

gianluca
Jul-15-2013, 06:20
Hi guys, newbie here and for all that matters with CloD: have had the CD on the shelves since maybe more than one year but never installed... as an Il-2 player since years and enjoying Histomod most of all, I was somehow feeling the stock version was not satisfying, I had of course heard about patches issued from official development team to address bugs and so on but still it was not enough since, finally I discovered this site: now I´m ready to give CloD a serious try, hence the forabove title.
I wonder however if steam is still absolutely necessary as well as the cd to play and update my install or something else has been envisaged to satisfy such purposes...
Anyway thks for hosting this words of mine and thks for answering!

Best regards,

Gianluca

DUI
Jul-15-2013, 06:41
Hi and welcome to the Cliffs of Dover community, Gianluca!

In order to install and run CloD Steam is necessary. I am just wondering if there even is a separate DVD - do not even think so.

After installing the official version via Steam just download and install the Team Fusion 3.0 patch and 3.01 mini patch. You can find the two downloads (and a install guide) here (http://theairtacticalassaultgroup.com/forum/forumdisplay.php?f=100).

Especially if you are choosing for complex motor management I would recommend to read the Team Fusion flight manuals (http://www.theairtacticalassaultgroup.com/wiki/doku.php?id=flight_manuals) with information about maximum temperatures and pressures of the different aircrafts first. If you are into multiplayer - in my opinion the strong point of Cliffs of Dover - just join the server of ATAG or Storm of War. Maybe, try to get your plane taking off and flying in an offline mission first. Then you already know the basics. For singleplayer to my knowledge the Desastersoft campaigns (http://www.desastersoft.com/en/news) are very highly rated.