PDA

View Full Version : Spitfire: A great plane to die in?

Anjelus
Sep-06-2013, 18:52
Hullo,

I'm doing a perma-death run through IL2 CoD's RAF campaign and just passed mission 9 where you take the Spitfire out for a test flight. This is my first time flying a Spitfire in CoD. All settings are full real and I'm using a TrackIR + X52 hotas setup.

My observations after days of flying only Hurricanes:

1) The Spitfire is jumpy as all hell. Felt like I was going to crash on take off.

2) During flight, I need to apply almost constant right rudder to counteract the aircraft's tendency to roll left. What in the world is up with this?

3) The engine management guide I d/led from this site recommends fine pitch below 2000 feet and course pitch for climbing, level flight, combat, etc. But unless I'm doing something horribly wrong, which is possible, I find I can hardly operate the machine at course pitch. She slows down way too much.

4) Tips for banking/hard breaking to get rid of the hypothetical 109s on my six? I noticed I need to put some rudder into it, but too much and she spins out immediately, too little and she doesn't turn fast enough.

Is there something I can read to help me out as I learn to fly this thing? I'm trying not to die here :-P

Dutch
Sep-06-2013, 19:03
Is there something I can read to help me out as I learn to fly this thing?

I recommend 'First Light' by Geoffrey Wellum. :D

It's just practice, that's all. In coarse pitch you don't slow down, the engine just revs a lot lower. Like in your car, you don't stay in first gear with the rev counter on the redline when driving at 40mph, you change up and you're still doing 40mph, but the engine revs lower.

Roblex
Sep-07-2013, 03:47