PDA

View Full Version : DCS World stand alone vs Steam version - recommendations?

ATAG_Naz
Oct-12-2013, 06:43
Hi all

Apologies if this has been dealt with previously.

Now that the DCS WWII keys are being sent out for the P-51 I will eventually get around to installing the P-51 on my rig (with TF4 out soon I have no idea when I will find time to try the P51 though Lol).

Does anyone have any advice as to whether it is preferable to download the DCS world installation from their site or go with the Steam version. I have no problems using steam (I'm a pro-steam person generally) and am expecting a considerable benefit being download speeds for me here in Oz.

Are there any issues i should be aware of that might warrant me going with the standalone DCS World version from the official site rather than Steam though?

Thanks in advance.

Cheers
Naz

EDIT: Ahhh ... never mind. It looks like the key I got is not being recognized by Steam anyway. Guess I'll have to download from ED site direct. I might not bother until the EDGE engine is live. I'll be spending all my time in TFv4 soon anyway hopefully :)

9./JG52 Jamz Dackel
Oct-12-2013, 07:20
Hey Naz,

Was just about to post the same question..

I just uninstalled my stand alone version too! so I could get it all on Steam but like you the DCSww2 key is not being recognized and cannot see a work around as of yet apart from installing it again as a stand alone

ATAG_Naz
Oct-12-2013, 07:28
I've just noticed this thread which sort of touches on our issue mate:

http://theairtacticalassaultgroup.com/forum/showthread.php?t=6186&p=65002#post65002

Probably worthwhile we check out the DCS forums as per Combat Wombat's suggestion. Let me know if you find anything before I do! :)

:thumbsup:

9./JG52 Jamz Dackel
Oct-12-2013, 07:34
I've just posted the question...Il let you know m8

9./JG52 Ziegler
Oct-12-2013, 07:38