PDA

View Full Version : spitfire better turner than hurricane?

trademe900
Oct-30-2013, 17:03
Hi all,

Love the fm revisions but have a question regarding the hurricane. The hurricane now turns worse than the spitfire, how can this be?

Shouldn't it be the spitfire with the sharp stall when turned hard and the hurricane the forgiving one that can turn very hard?

I am not totally sure but it feels the hurricane now can not turn as hard as spitfire. Also the Spitfire can be turned full hard full elevator and not stall where as the hurricane goes into a spin easily.

Is the hurricane good turn performance being modelled correctly and did reports describe it stalling and spinning like this in comparison to the spitfire?

ATAG_Colander
Oct-30-2013, 17:11
Hi trademe,

I'll let the hurri pilots answer this one.

Mattias
Oct-30-2013, 17:15
Hi trademe,

I'll let the hurri pilots answer this one.

+1 but I must say as a blue pilot I get the impression the Hurri does turn better than the Spit. I also managed to provoke quite a few spits into spins but never a hurri :thumbsup:

trademe900
Oct-30-2013, 17:21
Good to hear.

Maybe the hurricane can turn as well as spit but it's this stall behavior that is leading me to feel it can't. I Don't know. The spit can turn full elevator but hurricane can't

trademe900
Oct-30-2013, 17:25
I am loving the fm changes for example the climb and roll rates and especially now the 109 more realistic gentle stall which I have been waiting for a long time.

Just really didn't expect hurricane to be stalling when turning hard whereas spitfire can go full elevator turn

Catseye
Oct-30-2013, 17:45
I am loving the fm changes for example the climb and roll rates and especially now the 109 more realistic gentle stall which I have been waiting for a long time.

Just really didn't expect hurricane to be stalling when turning hard whereas spitfire can go full elevator turn

Hi Trademe,
The Hurricane was no slouch down low at moderate speed in the turns.