PDA

View Full Version : Server limit

9./JG52_Meyer
Dec-09-2013, 06:00
Salute all

I have noticed recently that the server crashes when it gets up to its max number. I am no expert in the making of missions or putting servers up in fact i know absolutley nothing about it. However can it be because there are to many AI in there, ground targets ,clouds etc etc. I know the other ATAG server is being used for testing at the minute ,but when that is finished can they not limit one server to 80 players and open up the other for the overspill?. It gets a bit frustating when 6 of us get formed up in 109's to do a Jabo mission fly all the way to the target get sorted out to hit the ground target and all of a sudden all the planes start to warp out of it.

ATAG_Lolsav
Dec-09-2013, 06:11
The real question is: Would it happen even if it was 2 or 3 guys on the server? We need to find the cause of the lag spike. It could be Steam, it could be traffic error for those on europe (server in USA), it could be what you say.

So far the internet code (Thank you oh "unnamed one") has proven to be great and with room to improve. I was on the server when the connection "stalled" for several minutes, but i tend to find those "stalls" quite regular, on the week end. But if you noticed carefully it is not when the server its most packed, but when the population has alredy started to decrease (europe goes into night). It was no more than 60 players when it happened the "hick-up" last night/afteroon (on the states).

9./JG52_Meyer
Dec-09-2013, 06:57
Lolsav thanks for the reply , you have cleared some points up for me in there. Lets hope the problem is found and sorted .

9./JG52 Ziegler
Dec-09-2013, 07:09
That's right it was not full but rather in the 60's, but the mission had allot of AI bombers, ships etc...Recently we've had some stuttering then it looks to crash but then comes back after a minute, but last night, twice it crashed when there were only players in the 60s?

ATAG_Lolsav