PDA

View Full Version : Some thoughts on Spitfire overheat in TF4.00

camber
Dec-09-2013, 22:16
TF (er, Buzzsaw?) has probably already figured out how to incorporate Spitfire overheat changes in TF4.01 and has moved on....but anyway:

I am a huge fan of TF mods. Thank you, especially for visibility fix + zoom, which increase immersion a huge amount. I fly Spits almost exclusively but I don't actually consider that ATAG server balance would really benefit from better Spits, (I rarely survive long in a 109)

However, I have some background in coding process simulations including temp effects and I was thinking about how CloD models overheat.

I think that using overheat as the limiting factor for Spitfire boost use in typical flight regimes (i.e not climbing at 120mph IAS) is likely not historically correct because of the rapid way temp changes occur...I have not come across any historical material (anecdotal or data) that suggests that the typical limiting factor in Spitfire 100 oct overboost was short term damaging overheats...more like reducing the motor life to 10's of hours due to a combination of higher stable temps and other factors related to greater manifold pressure/power generation, (which of course was a large problem in the actual battle).

The trouble with penalising overboost in the sim with overheat is the time dynamics of the sim temp rise..... Currently the sim Spit tends to sit at around 110'C over quite a wide range (on the performance side) of rad flap settings, IAS and boost. Cross a threshold (say by going +12psi) and temp very rapidly rises to 120'C and blows the radiator.

So if you change the heat dissipating ability of the Spit radiator in TF4.01 (say by increasing whatever constants control this in CloD code), the penalty for say selecting +12psi 3000rpm will change in a binary way from:

* engine failure within seconds/minutes due to overtemp