PDA

View Full Version : Just an idea..

EG14_Marcast
Jan-02-2014, 04:30
First of all I must say that 1) I enjoy very much the most maps that are actually in rotation and that 2) I don’t know anything about map scripting apart from simple FMB use. So maybe this idea isn’t even possible to actualize, I just offer it as a matter of discussion.

I think that our goal is to make a game as close as possible to a real aerial warfare scenario. All current maps (apart from London Raids on the Red side) are based on the concept of targets’ destruction within a certain time. This leads to some deviations from reality: Personally as a mainly bomber pilot, I often make attacks that I would never dare if I really were sitting on that plane (low level bombing on highly AAA defended targets).
IMO this could be avoided by passing to “points based” maps. Points should be given for targets’ destruction, for kills and for RTBs too. The map could be won by the side reaching a certain amount of points or the highest number of points in a certain time duration. This could also allow both parts to take advantage in some measure of the “pure dogfight fans” work. What do you think?

ATAG_Nudge
Jan-02-2014, 06:44
First of all I must say that 1) I enjoy very much the most maps that are actually in rotation and that 2) I don’t know anything about map scripting apart from simple FMB use. So maybe this idea isn’t even possible to actualize, I just offer it as a matter of discussion.

I think that our goal is to make a game as close as possible to a real aerial warfare scenario. All current maps (apart from London Raids on the Red side) are based on the concept of targets’ destruction within a certain time. This leads to some deviations from reality: Personally as a mainly bomber pilot, I often make attacks that I would never dare if I really were sitting on that plane (low level bombing on highly AAA defended targets).