deadbeatbert

ATAG and the great Tramadol Blast-o-rama

Rate this Entry
A Brief History of DeadBeat Flight -

It's my second day of flying a proper flightsim online again. I've been flying in PC simulators since 1999 when I bought Microsoft's Combat Flight Simulator. I flew with a fun bunch of reprobates in the IKP and am still friends with some of them. Since then I played its successor and IL2 1946 until my kids were just old enough to break both of my flight sticks while I was at work with effortless ease. I put myself on hiatus. With my kids now old enough to not break the finer things in life and having some time off work with back problems I figure it's a good time to get back in the cockpit.

So I'm back flying properly, teaching both my son and daughter how to fly and am giving up the ghost of mouse aim Warthunder for something much more worthwhile and satisfying. (Ace in a day on Warthunder is comparable to a perfect take off in CloD.)

The Tramadol for pain relief is and isn't helping. It makes me calm which helps with decision making, but affects my reflexes so it's a catch 22. Not one to make an excuse for anything, I'll happily blame myself for all of the bad decisions I'll doubtless make.

Day 1: RAF Rochford. Home. I haven't been back to Blighty since 2012, but there's nothing more satisfying than taxiing down an airstrip I know so well. 74 and 54 Squadrons were based there and at Hornchurch for much of the Battle of Britain and Sailor Malan is the most prominent of pilots associated with them. The nostalgia is already real as I load up and set up my Spit for flight.

Take One - I biff the takeoff and write off my Spit as it ditches in a stream. Great start.

Take Two - I'm up and patrolling Kent. I get rounds into an He111 and a Bf110, but the heavy fighter gets rounds into my oil tank and I crash just shy of the strip at Hawkinge.