Page 1 of 7 123 ... LastLast

Thread: EDTracker - Review - WIP

Post Thanks / Like
    Total Downloaded
    188.33 MB

EDTracker - Review - WIP

Called it Work In Progress as I document my full experience with this tracking unit from point of order through to usage in game together with calibration etc etc.

I am not tech savvy at all so this will be a point of view from the average Jo perspective. Hope you will all find it useful in the long run of testing the product for the use in Cliffs of Dover.

I will populate each point below as the testing happens. Additional points may be added as needed. This post will be edited as I go along to keep everything in one post at the top.

Product detail:
    EDTracker Pro - preassembled version as I don't like messing with electronics
    Website and info: http://www.edtracker.org.uk/index.ph.../edtracker-pro

1. Ordering
    So I jumped on developer website on 12/08/2015 afternoon and ordered the unit plus the cable. The price seems reasonable and website is easy enough to navigate. Quick payment using PayPal and I received the confirmation of payment and order to my email. 13/08/2015 I received email to notify me that product will be posted today.
    Price:
    £45 for the unit
    £2 for the cable (optional)
    £2 postage and packing

Total: £49

2. Unpacking (quality of postage and first impressions)
    The unit arrived on 15/08/2015 and on first impression it's a small package, wrapped and packed very securely. Very little likelihood of damage in post.

It's a smart looking little unit, plain black ABS plastic box. The cable looks sturdy too and definitely able to handle large amount of rotational stress.

First impressions are very good and I am pleasantly surprised by the quality.

3. Connecting and calibration
    On with connecting and calibration, just plugged it in and following the instructions from the website I downloaded the GUI 1.0.0 (one for the Pro unit). The GUI recognised the unit and connected it.