Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: Ed Tracker and Track IR - Memoirs of a Test Pilot

Post Thanks / Like
    Total Downloaded
    571.41 MB

Ed Tracker and Track IR - Memoirs of a Test Pilot

So anyway... I recently spotted a used TrackIR 5 on eBay with the pro clip IR led thingamy included for a very tempting price.
    Glugg gluggg... “Click”

Now as many of you will know I have been using ED Tracker since this time last year and very happy I have been with it too.

I thought it might be useful to write up some of my observations which I hope will be useful to new players as well as to existing ones.

I’m writing this up as of the first attempt at using it so my opinion is likely to change as this article continues.

Also my observations are strictly limited to TrackIR and ED Tracker, I have no experience of other head tracking devices.

So without further ado... here are my thoughts:

Initial Setup

First up... I tried a few profiles I found on the forum ... Lewis... Karaya... KushViper.

None of those are for me... personally I really hate dead zones... I like the tracker to follow my head rather than act like a magnet to the front of the plane...

Linear response for me... It’s how I have always had the Ed Tracker set up... natural like !

So... initial stab at setting up my own profile, I went with Speed 1 Smoothing 20. With smoothing I was looking for maximum response with the ability to keep still when required. I can do this down to about 10 without any problem... but figured I’d give myself a bit of margin. 25 was too much. 20 seems ok.. might kick it down a bit later.

First Use

My initial thoughts.... Hmmmm