Results 1 to 16 of 16

Thread: Ch fighter stick and throttle?

  1. #1
    Novice Pilot Campbell's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2017
    Location
    Georgia United States
    Posts
    57
    Post Thanks / Like
    Total Downloaded
    7.45 MB

    Ch fighter stick and throttle?

    Hey are any of you using the CH products to fly with? If so are you using the CH manager software for calibrating in Windows 10 or just using the Windows 10 interface to calibrate? Thanks


    Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk Pro
    Windows 10 64-bit; Intel Core i5 CPU @ 3.4 GHz; 16.0GB RAM; NVIDIA GTX970; CH HOTAS + Pedals; Track IR5

  2. #2
    TF Leadership RAF74_Buzzsaw's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2012
    Posts
    7,319
    Post Thanks / Like
    Total Downloaded
    0

    Re: Ch fighter stick and throttle?

    Quote Originally Posted by Campbell View Post
    Hey are any of you using the CH products to fly with? If so are you using the CH manager software for calibrating in Windows 10 or just using the Windows 10 interface to calibrate? Thanks


    Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk Pro
    CH Fighterstick and throttle are great pieces of flight sim hardware... not cheap, but they last a long time and easy on the hands if you are right handed.

    But remember, the Fighterstick does not have a twist rudder on the stick... you need to add rudder pedals.... another considerable investment.

    You can't fly the game aircraft in realistic mode without rudder control... keyboard control won't work.

  3. #3
    Novice Pilot Campbell's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2017
    Location
    Georgia United States
    Posts
    57
    Post Thanks / Like
    Total Downloaded
    7.45 MB

    Re: Ch fighter stick and throttle?

    Yea, thanks I know! I own the whole setup stick, throttle and peddles. I was just wondering if people that also own them are using the CH Manager software to set them up or if the where doing it directly in Windows 10.


    Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk Pro
    Windows 10 64-bit; Intel Core i5 CPU @ 3.4 GHz; 16.0GB RAM; NVIDIA GTX970; CH HOTAS + Pedals; Track IR5

  4. #4
    Veteran Combat pilot
    Join Date
    Jan 2013
    Location
    Aurora Colorado
    Posts
    405
    Post Thanks / Like
    Total Downloaded
    289.05 MB

    Re: Ch fighter stick and throttle?

    I have used all three for years. I use the CM software to both set up and calibrate them. I do usually find it necessary to re-scan the controllers, then re-download the profile I use before starting the game in order to ensure that they work in game.

  5. Likes Campbell liked this post
  6. #5
    Ace 1lokos's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2012
    Posts
    3,362
    Post Thanks / Like
    Total Downloaded
    238.91 MB

    Re: Ch fighter stick and throttle?

    Quote Originally Posted by Campbell View Post
    Hey are any of you using the CH products to fly with? If so are you using the CH manager software for calibrating in Windows 10 or just using the Windows 10 interface to calibrate?
    You should give preference for joystick manufacturer calibration software, theoretically this give you the best calibration possible.
    Windows Games controller is for generic joysticks that don't came with any software, and even for these use DView or DXTweak2 is more recommendable.

  7. Likes Campbell liked this post
  8. #6
    Supporting Member Nork's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2013
    Location
    Australia
    Posts
    89
    Post Thanks / Like
    Total Downloaded
    5.5 KB

    Re: Ch fighter stick and throttle?

    Quote Originally Posted by Campbell View Post
    Hey are any of you using the CH products to fly with? If so are you using the CH manager software for calibrating in Windows 10 or just using the Windows 10 interface to calibrate? Thanks


    Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk Pro
    Yep, i use the CH throttle and a thrust master t 16000 joystick.
    No special software for either just plug and play.
    Very happy with the function of both units although neither of them look particularly sexy.

    69th_Nork

  9. Likes Campbell liked this post
  10. #7
    ATAG Member ATAG_Highseas's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2016
    Location
    Brighton, UK
    Posts
    1,888
    Post Thanks / Like
    Total Downloaded
    485.11 MB

    Re: Ch fighter stick and throttle?

    Quote Originally Posted by Campbell View Post
    Hey are any of you using the CH products to fly with? If so are you using the CH manager software for calibrating in Windows 10 or just using the Windows 10 interface to calibrate? Thanks


    Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk Pro
    I used to have CH rudder pedals.

    If all my kit disappeared and i had to replace it... Id have no problem in going with CH.

    In fact I was very recently eyeing up the CH Fighterstick as an alternative for the Warthog which I have grown to loathe

    but then the gunfighter went on release....


    Basically... CH is very very good.

    It doesn't use the newest technology, but it works and it keeps on working.

    ASUS H87M-E - i5-4670 (3.4GHz) - 16GB DDR3 1600MHz - GTX 980ti - Corsair 650W CS - TM Warthog HOTAS - Slaw Device Rudder Pedals - TrackIR 5
    Also ED-Tracker for when the sun shines out of, I mean... from behind

    (Operated by a 1972 Standard Issue Talking Monkey)

  11. Likes Campbell liked this post
  12. #8
    Supporting Member farley's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2013
    Location
    43° 12' N 80° 00' W
    Posts
    669
    Post Thanks / Like
    Total Downloaded
    1.86 GB

    Re: Ch fighter stick and throttle?

    Have had the figtherstick and prothrottle for several years now and had them set up using the CH software, but now just plug and play and have not needed to recalibrate them. I last checked about 2/12 ago and they were spot on.

    I struggled with learning the software, but it added to the number of usable buttons, key combinations etc.. If I decide to fly multiengine planes or jets then I might go back to the software so I can make use of more of the three layers of buttons etc.
    "If you want to fly, give up everything that holds you down"......

  13. Likes Campbell liked this post
  14. #9
    Novice Pilot Campbell's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2017
    Location
    Georgia United States
    Posts
    57
    Post Thanks / Like
    Total Downloaded
    7.45 MB

    Re: Ch fighter stick and throttle?

    Thanks guys! Thats exactly the type info I was searching for.
    Windows 10 64-bit; Intel Core i5 CPU @ 3.4 GHz; 16.0GB RAM; NVIDIA GTX970; CH HOTAS + Pedals; Track IR5

  15. #10
    Supporting Member DOWNEAST's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2017
    Location
    Gateway to Downeast NE USA
    Posts
    13
    Post Thanks / Like
    Total Downloaded
    1.30 GB

    Re: Ch fighter stick and throttle?

    Quote Originally Posted by Campbell View Post
    Hey are any of you using the CH products to fly with? If so are you using the CH manager software for calibrating in Windows 10 or just using the Windows 10 interface to calibrate? Thanks


    Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk Pro
    Campbell - I am new to this arena joining just in January and have little experience in SIMs except what I have learned from the ATAG forum and all the help these people readily give. I use a WIN 10 ASUS computer and have all three CH products; Fighterstick, Pro Throttle and Rudder peddles. I calibrated them on CH manager only and then mapped them in CloD "Controls" successfully.

    PM me and I can shoot you my set up information if you want to see how I have mapped them in Clod for RAF A/C.
    ASUS GB20CB Intel I-7 w/Nvidia Geforce, ASUS Swift PG279Q, CH Fighterstick, CH Pro throttle, CH Rudder, EDtracker Pro


  16. #11
    Ace 1lokos's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2012
    Posts
    3,362
    Post Thanks / Like
    Total Downloaded
    238.91 MB

    Re: Ch fighter stick and throttle?

    Quote Originally Posted by farley View Post
    Have had the figtherstick and prothrottle for several years now and had them set up using the CH software, but now just plug and play and have not needed to recalibrate
    I (and others) notice that FightStick gimbal Y axis is able to turn around 33º for each side (~66º), but their potentiometer electric angle is limited to 30+30º degrees.

    If joystick is calibrated in Windows Game Controllers that don't know this, means that in game elevator will reach 100% of deflection before your reach joystick physical 100% deflection. *
    I guess that CH drivers amplify potentiometer electrical response response to match the grip physical movement.

    I convert some old CH stick for USB using Leo Bodnar Bu0836 card and notice this difference, so I need limit gimbal Y physical movement for ~30+30º.
    Using a joystick tester more detailed than Windows Game Controllers, e.g. DView, DXTweak, Thrustmaster Analyzer... this difference can be noticed.

    Use CH drivers for install/calibration don't implicates obligatoriness in use Manager soft - that "press joystick buttons to press keyboard keys to send commands for games"(thing that for me me always sounds dumb, unless for specific macros).

    * This mismatch (a end course mechanical deadzone) between gimbal movement and sensor reading happens too with in some units of Tm T16000M and can be fixed loosing or tight the bolts of spring support plate.

    Small detail that most users probable don't notice in use.
    Last edited by 1lokos; Apr-20-2017 at 12:44.

  17. Likes farley, ATAG_Highseas liked this post
  18. #12
    Supporting Member farley's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2013
    Location
    43° 12' N 80° 00' W
    Posts
    669
    Post Thanks / Like
    Total Downloaded
    1.86 GB

    Re: Ch fighter stick and throttle?

    Quote Originally Posted by 1lokos View Post
    I (and others) notice that FightStick gimbal Y axis is able to turn around 33º for each side (~66º), but their potentiometer electric angle is limited to 30+30º degrees.

    If joystick is calibrated in Windows Game Controllers that don't know this, means that in game elevator will reach 100% of deflection before your reach joystick physical 100% deflection. *
    I guess that CH drivers amplify potentiometer electrical response response to match the grip physical movement.

    I convert some old CH stick for USB using Leo Bodnar Bu0836 card and notice this difference, so I need limit gimbal Y physical movement for ~30+30º.
    Using a joystick tester more detailed than Windows Game Controllers, e.g. DView, DXTweak, Thrustmaster Analyzer... this difference can be noticed.

    Use CH drivers for install/calibration don't implicates obligatoriness in use Manager soft - that "press joystick buttons to press keyboard keys to send commands for games"(thing that for me me always sounds dumb, unless for specific macros).

    * This mismatch (a end course mechanical deadzone) between gimbal movement and sensor reading happens too with in some units of Tm T16000M and can be fixed loosing or tight the bolts of spring support plate.

    Small detail that most users probable don't notice in use.
    Thanks for passing along your knowledge 1lokos . I had no idea, but will give it a try to see what difference it makes. Is there a joystick testing program that you recommend?

    You often reply to the technical/mechanical issues here, and I often wonder how you know so much about all of this stuff? You're not a computer are you?
    Last edited by farley; Apr-20-2017 at 17:15.
    "If you want to fly, give up everything that holds you down"......

  19. #13
    Combat pilot Perfesser's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2015
    Location
    Canada
    Posts
    150
    Post Thanks / Like
    Total Downloaded
    988.8 KB

    Re: Ch fighter stick and throttle?

    Small detail that most users probable don't notice in use.
    Yup, never noticed. Only use full deflection after landing anyway.

    Anytime I used the manufacturer software for controllers it has only been a waste of time. All controls through the game interface seems to be what works best for me.

  20. #14
    Ace
    Join Date
    May 2012
    Posts
    860
    Post Thanks / Like
    Total Downloaded
    0

    Re: Ch fighter stick and throttle?

    Quote Originally Posted by 1lokos View Post
    I (and others) notice that FightStick gimbal Y axis is able to turn around 33º for each side (~66º), but their potentiometer electric angle is limited to 30+30º degrees.

    If joystick is calibrated in Windows Game Controllers that don't know this, means that in game elevator will reach 100% of deflection before your reach joystick physical 100% deflection. *
    I guess that CH drivers amplify potentiometer electrical response response to match the grip physical movement.


    Small detail that most users probable don't notice in use.
    That's exactly what you can see in CH control manger/ calibration tool. When you move the joystick it reaches 100% deflection just near the end of physical travel.

  21. #15
    Public Relations ATAG_Lewis's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2012
    Location
    Sheffield UK
    Posts
    5,789
    Post Thanks / Like
    Total Downloaded
    309.38 MB

    Re: Ch fighter stick and throttle?

    I use the CH Pro Throttle....Great piece of kit...I managed to get it for £30 ($38) on ebay...after searching for years for a low price one...It is like brand new...Unlike a lot of the Saitek style throttles the CH Pro throttle slides on a flat plane as oppose to on an axis...The grip doesn't rotate with the pot...I found mine a bit loose...apparently a common issue but easily remedied...

    http://theairtacticalassaultgroup.co...light=throttle

    I use the CH manager...
    "The trouble with the world is that the stupid are cocksure and the intelligent are full of doubt.'' - Bertrand Russell

    My Turing machine :CPU: Intel Core i7 2700K 3.50GHz Sandybridge overclocked to 4.80GHz, Motherboard: Asus Maximus IV Extreme -Z Intel Z68 (Socket 1155) PCI-Express DDR3,
    RAM: 8GB (2x4GB) DDR3 Dual Channel Kit, Graphics Card: Nvidia GeForce GTX 970 4096MB GDDR5, OS:Windows 10
    Joystick: Microsoft Sidewinder II ForceFeedback Joystick, Throttle: CH Products Pro Throttle
    ATAG_Lewis Youtube Channel

  22. Likes farley liked this post
  23. #16
    Novice Pilot Campbell's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2017
    Location
    Georgia United States
    Posts
    57
    Post Thanks / Like
    Total Downloaded
    7.45 MB

    Re: Ch fighter stick and throttle?

    Quote Originally Posted by ATAG_Lewis View Post
    I use the CH Pro Throttle....Great piece of kit...I managed to get it for £30 ($38) on ebay...after searching for years for a low price one...It is like brand new...Unlike a lot of the Saitek style throttles the CH Pro throttle slides on a flat plane as oppose to on an axis...The grip doesn't rotate with the pot...I found mine a bit loose...apparently a common issue but easily remedied...

    http://theairtacticalassaultgroup.co...light=throttle

    I use the CH manager...
    Thanks Lewis, yea I really like mine a lot. I did notice that after I unplug the stick and throttle from my computer and plug them back in , that I have to do a recalibration. I was struggling really bad on the ATAG because I had a delay in my control input to the game. So I thought maybe it was the CH Manger giving me issues. But turns out that once I recalibrate everything it all works like a champ.


    Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk Pro
    Windows 10 64-bit; Intel Core i5 CPU @ 3.4 GHz; 16.0GB RAM; NVIDIA GTX970; CH HOTAS + Pedals; Track IR5

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •