Results 1 to 21 of 21

Thread: Lines In Prop Blur - FIXED vsync on

  1. #1
    Student Pilot Oubaas's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2015
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    14
    Post Thanks / Like
    Total Downloaded
    0

    Lines In Prop Blur - FIXED vsync on

    When flying the Hurricane in Blitz, there are horizontal lines in the prop blur. I don't recall that being the case with the beta. I don't know if it happens with other aircraft yet because I just got Blitz up and running and haven't flown them yet.

    I suspect that it might be some setting in game or in my nVidia Control Panel that I have wrong.

    Does anybody know how to get rid of the horizontal lines jumping around in the prop blur?

    Thanks!

  2. #2
    Student Pilot Oubaas's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2015
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    14
    Post Thanks / Like
    Total Downloaded
    0

    Re: Lines In Prop Blur

    I turned on v-sync, the problem is gone. Everything looks good now.

    This might be something that you want to look at during VR implementation. VR doesn't seem to like v-sync.

    But things look great now with it on, using my TrackIR 5.

  3. #3
    Team Fusion Biggs's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2012
    Location
    Maryland, USA
    Posts
    342
    Post Thanks / Like
    Total Downloaded
    0

    Re: Lines In Prop Blur - FIXED vsync on

    I have a G-Sync monitor with the function enabled but I still have the horizontal tearing. Was present in 4.3 as well.

  4. #4
    Student Pilot fury1ord's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2017
    Location
    Poland
    Posts
    24
    Post Thanks / Like
    Total Downloaded
    986.61 MB

    Re: Lines In Prop Blur - FIXED vsync on

    Can confirm that turning on Vsync fixes "prop tearing" on Spitfire/Hurricane in 4.5.
    The same issue was also present in 4.312 as far as I remember...
    No. 303 RF-H (P3939) - Sgt Stefan Wójtowicz

    Monitor: Eizo EV2455 24.1" CPU: Intel i7 6700k @ 4.3 Ghz Cooler: be quiet! Dark Rock 3 Motherboard: ASUS Z170 PRO GAMING RAM: DDR4 Corsair 16GB 3200MHz Vengeance GPU: Palit GeForce GTX 1070 GameRock 8GB HDD: WD 1TB Blue SSD: GOODRAM 240GB Iridium PRO PSU: Corsair Corsair RM550X 550W Joystick: Microsoft Sidewinder Force Feedback 2 Throttle: CH Pro Throttle Rudder: Saitek Combat Rudder Pedals Tracking: TrackIR 5 + LaserClip

  5. #5
    ATAG Member ATAG_Highseas's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2016
    Location
    Peurto del Slade, UK
    Posts
    5,073
    Post Thanks / Like
    Total Downloaded
    526.76 MB

    Re: Lines In Prop Blur - FIXED vsync on

    Quote Originally Posted by fury1ord View Post
    Can confirm that turning on Vsync fixes "prop tearing" on Spitfire/Hurricane in 4.5.
    The same issue was also present in 4.312 as far as I remember...
    rather than turn Vsync on in game try enabling "fast sync" on in the nvidia control panel (assuming you are Nvidia not AMD of course)

    and then turn it off in game.

    screan tearing gone... and FPS allowed to go higher than 60.

    works great for me.


    - ASUS ROG STRIX Z370-E - i7-8700k - ASUS GTX 1080 Ti ROG STRIX OC - 16GB Corsair Vengeance DDR4 3000MHz -
    - CORSAIR 850W RMx Series PSU - Noctua NH-U14S CPU Cooler -
    - Virpil T50 Mongoos with Warthog Grip plus Extension Set -
    - TM Warthog Throttle -
    - Slaw Device 109 Cam Rudder Pedals -
    - HighseasPeripherals(tm) - Engine Switch Panel - Munitions Switch Panel - Throttle Quadrant Trim Box -

    (Operated by a 1972 Standard Issue Talking Monkey)

  6. Likes farley, ATAG_Snapper, fury1ord, Baffin liked this post
  7. #6
    Novice Pilot YoYo's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2013
    Posts
    91
    Post Thanks / Like
    Total Downloaded
    108.98 MB

    Re: Lines In Prop Blur - FIXED vsync on

    Quote Originally Posted by Biggs View Post
    I have a G-Sync monitor with the function enabled but I still have the horizontal tearing. Was present in 4.3 as well.
    Set Pseudo mode. I have Gsync also, works ok.
    www.yoyosims.pl

    Win 10 64, i7 7700k@4.5, GTX 1080Ti 11Gb, RAM 32Gb Corsair Vengeance LPX, 4xSSD+1SSD M.2 NVMe, Predator XB271HU res.2560x1440 27'' G-sync, Sound Blaster Z + 5.1, TrackIR 5, TH Warthog, Throtlle Quadrant CH, MFG Rudder, Go Flight GF-P8, Saitek: Pro Flight Radio Panel, Pro Flight Switch Panel, Pro Flight Multi Panel, FiP and BiP [P3Dv4, DCS, TOH, RoF, Condor, WT, IL-2 CoD/BoS/BoM/BoK]

  8. #7
    Novice Pilot
    Join Date
    Apr 2013
    Posts
    38
    Post Thanks / Like
    Total Downloaded
    868.19 MB

    Smile Re: Lines In Prop Blur - FIXED vsync on

    Hi,
    I am having zero success in fixing this. I have tried everything provided in this topic, and would like to say thanks to those for providing them. It just appears that Vertical Synch is performing OK in all other areas in the sim, and the graphics are otherwise superb, and this is the only issue that is giving trouble. This sim has the ability to take me back to my childhood- climbing over the Spit guarding the gate of what was RAF West Malling, and watching Geoffery Quill cavorting all over the sky above Biggin Hill in a Mk V during the 1960 anniversary air display....2 years later the family were bound for Australia but the remoteness was ever able to make me forget about my home county of Kent or the tumultuous events of 1940.
    If anyone can help out about the cockpit prop view issue I should be most grateful...
    Thank you...

  9. #8
    ATAG Member
    Join Date
    May 2015
    Location
    Brisbane Australia
    Posts
    65
    Post Thanks / Like
    Blog Entries
    1
    Total Downloaded
    45.32 MB

    Re: Lines In Prop Blur - FIXED vsync on

    Try Unticking the SSAO box in Video Options

    Cheers Soldat

  10. #9
    Novice Pilot
    Join Date
    Apr 2013
    Posts
    38
    Post Thanks / Like
    Total Downloaded
    868.19 MB

    Re: Lines In Prop Blur - FIXED vsync on

    Hi Soldat, and thank you for your message. I tried your suggestion, but there was no change. The effect only appears while idling and disappears as revs rise. I have tried everything I can think of. It is almost as though the V Sync is not working either in game, through Inspector or the control panel. This is using a GTX970 and the most recent Nvidia drivers....

  11. #10
    ATAG Member
    Join Date
    May 2015
    Location
    Brisbane Australia
    Posts
    65
    Post Thanks / Like
    Blog Entries
    1
    Total Downloaded
    45.32 MB

    Re: Lines In Prop Blur - FIXED vsync on

    Hi Peter
    I
    have never had V-Sync on in game settings I have V-Sync set to On in the NVIDIA control panel

    cheers Soldat

  12. #11
    Supporting Member III./ZG76_Ezzie's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2014
    Posts
    1,165
    Post Thanks / Like
    Total Downloaded
    0

    Re: Lines In Prop Blur - FIXED vsync on

    Quote Originally Posted by Peter Lynn View Post
    Hi Soldat, and thank you for your message. I tried your suggestion, but there was no change. The effect only appears while idling and disappears as revs rise. I have tried everything I can think of. It is almost as though the V Sync is not working either in game, through Inspector or the control panel. This is using a GTX970 and the most recent Nvidia drivers....
    Peter,

    Sorry if u have tried or thought of these already. But it seems u are out of ideas so thought i would suggest them noting i profess no real knowledge in these areas.

    Have u confirmed you have the right launcher .exe in your nvidia list? A couple of times ive lost vsynch when the launcher exe changed and i forgot to update it in the nvidia panel

    Next time u are experiencing the issue try hitting the windows key and see if it makes a difference when you get back in the game. Ive been told - and have seen it first hand i think - that the windows key will turn off vsynch. If u then hit esc and then fly it shoul re-enable it. Doing this and noting what happens / doesnt happen might help problem solving. Or it might not....

    Good luck - hope u get it sorted

    Ezzie

  13. #12
    Novice Pilot
    Join Date
    Apr 2013
    Posts
    38
    Post Thanks / Like
    Total Downloaded
    868.19 MB

    Re: Lines In Prop Blur - FIXED vsync on

    Hi Ezzie and thank you for your help. Your idea did not work, but your information will certainly be remembered. It is somewhat frustrating....the game looks really breathtaking! just this little quirk....

  14. #13
    Supporting Member Tibsun's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2016
    Location
    Austria
    Posts
    404
    Post Thanks / Like
    Blog Entries
    1
    Total Downloaded
    68.49 MB

    Re: Lines In Prop Blur - FIXED vsync on

    Vsync ingame works fine for me. (Disable Nvidia Vsync if you want to use the ingame Vsync and restart game)
    This things have helped me with screen tearin:
    Using Full Screen instead of windowed in CloD.
    Selecting the tearing screen as main screen in Nvidia / extend: give main screen the number 1 / duplicate: clone source 1
    Using aero skin in Windows 7 helpes me having no screen tear in Google Chrome. (You can have it disbaled through programs fine though.)

    Someone mentioned VR doesn't like Vsync, probably because the refresh rate is different.
    Check if your refresh rate is fine.

  15. #14
    Novice Pilot
    Join Date
    Apr 2013
    Posts
    38
    Post Thanks / Like
    Total Downloaded
    868.19 MB

    Re: Lines In Prop Blur - FIXED vsync on

    Hello Tibsun.
    Thank you for your help. I have tried all your suggestions with no success. My son mentioned that I may have a monitor problem and I do not have a spare to try. The strange thing is, it seems that the V Sync IS working elsewhere on the screen.....just not within the prop arc!....if that makes any sense, and it only shows up at very low engine rpms! Thanks again for your advice.

  16. #15
    Supporting Member III./ZG76_Ezzie's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2014
    Posts
    1,165
    Post Thanks / Like
    Total Downloaded
    0

    Re: Lines In Prop Blur - FIXED vsync on

    Quote Originally Posted by Peter Lynn View Post
    Hello Tibsun.
    Thank you for your help. I have tried all your suggestions with no success. My son mentioned that I may have a monitor problem and I do not have a spare to try. The strange thing is, it seems that the V Sync IS working elsewhere on the screen.....just not within the prop arc!....if that makes any sense, and it only shows up at very low engine rpms! Thanks again for your advice.
    Peter,

    Sorry to hear you are still having issues.

    Would it be possible to take a screen shot of what you are seeing and post in this thread?

    Also do you get this on all aircraft types?

    And lastly - what is your monitor refresh rate?

    Ezzie

  17. #16
    Novice Pilot
    Join Date
    Apr 2013
    Posts
    38
    Post Thanks / Like
    Total Downloaded
    868.19 MB

    Re: Lines In Prop Blur - FIXED vsync on

    Hi again, Ezzie, and thanks for the help yet again!
    I have taken screen shots but the effect does not display! What appears are largely parallel and vertical translucent areas of hard edged shading at 90.deg to each other that travel and overlay. That is about the best I can describe it.... It started on the Spit and Hurricane but seems to have spreed to other types. One needs to be in the cockpit to see is as there is nothing amiss in exterior views. My monitor refresh rate is set at 59 and has never been altered. I have an ASUS 27" screen. Never experienced anything like it before. Hope that gives you some useful information. I know a lot more about aviation history than pooters!

  18. #17
    Supporting Member III./ZG76_Ezzie's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2014
    Posts
    1,165
    Post Thanks / Like
    Total Downloaded
    0

    Re: Lines In Prop Blur - FIXED vsync on

    Hmmm i've got no clever ideas Peter so the following is well and truely clutching at straws. Aplogies if u have tried them already

    Have u tried changing the video options such as aircrat detail (ie high medium low )etc to see if that changes this behaviour?

    Have you cleared the cache?

    What is the in game refresh rate set at? ( i think there's an option to change this - sorry if memory is playing tricks) does changing that change anything?

    If you jump in a blenny do u get the same effect when looking at the props from other positions in the aircraft ( im not sure if u can see the props from all these positions though)

    Do u get it in single player and muliplayer?

    Have you verified your install via steam?

    again sorry if u have tried these. Ill stop suggesting random things now and hope someone else might know how to fix your problem.

    Edit - was reading this thread

    https://theairtacticalassaultgroup.c...highlight=Prop

    And The epilepsy filter was mentioned. Im not sure if that is still an option in the latest version but if it is still an option does this make a difference. Now i'm done with random suggestion...

    Good luck



    Ezzie
    Last edited by III./ZG76_Ezzie; Mar-08-2019 at 06:26.

  19. #18
    Novice Pilot
    Join Date
    Apr 2013
    Posts
    38
    Post Thanks / Like
    Total Downloaded
    868.19 MB

    Re: Lines In Prop Blur - FIXED vsync on

    Ok Ezzie, you have been more than generous...Thank you for you efforts. I will keep toiling at this end....

  20. #19
    Student Pilot
    Join Date
    Oct 2015
    Posts
    16
    Post Thanks / Like
    Total Downloaded
    385.13 MB

    Re: Lines In Prop Blur - FIXED vsync on

    try to set the fps to the frequency of the monitor with a program like Rivaturner, nvidia inspector ...

  21. #20
    Novice Pilot
    Join Date
    Apr 2013
    Posts
    38
    Post Thanks / Like
    Total Downloaded
    868.19 MB

    Re: Lines In Prop Blur - FIXED vsync on

    Hi addict, and thank you for your message. I will do as you suggest and inform you forthwith!

  22. #21
    Novice Pilot
    Join Date
    Apr 2013
    Posts
    38
    Post Thanks / Like
    Total Downloaded
    868.19 MB

    Re: Lines In Prop Blur - FIXED vsync on

    Well it is certainly much better thank you. Sometimes it tries to creep back with the Hurricane, but it is much improved.

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •