Thread: 3D Modeling tools?

Post Thanks / Like
    Total Downloaded
    17.61 MB

3D Modeling tools?

Hi! I was just wondering what software would be appropriate for creating 3D models for a sim like Cliffs of Dover?

Autodesk kindly allows Students and Faculty members to down load a copy of their software for educational purposes. I've just registered and downloaded a copy of 3DStudio Max 2013 with the intent of learning a bit about the process.

Although I have some background in 3D CAD software like PTC Pro-desktop and Creo, 3D Studio Max is a completely different kettle of fish. (Hopefully I'll be able to make some time to get into it!)

What other software and utiliites would be useful?

Post Thanks / Like
    Total Downloaded
    255.73 MB

Re: 3D Modeling tools?

Quote Originally Posted by Skoshi_Tiger View Post
    Hi! I was just wondering what software would be appropriate for creating 3D models for a sim like Cliffs of Dover?

Autodesk kindly allows Students and Faculty members to down load a copy of their software for educational purposes. I've just registered and downloaded a copy of 3DStudio Max 2013 with the intent of learning a bit about the process.

Although I have some background in 3D CAD software like PTC Pro-desktop and Creo, 3D Studio Max is a completely different kettle of fish. (Hopefully I'll be able to make some time to get into it!)

What other software and utiliites would be useful?
    I would love to have MAX but I'm not a student or faculty member so until they allow downloads for hobby enthusiasts, is a no go.
    The open source alternative is Blender. Blender is very powerful (very close to MAX) but the learning curve is steep, however, the more you learn, the faster you'll learn.

Supporting Member
    Post Thanks / Like
    Total Downloaded