Thread: Internal Padlocking - Stranger Results / Weird Behavior

Novice Pilot
    British California aka British Columbia, Canada
    Post Thanks / Like
    Total Downloaded
    127.02 MB

Internal Padlocking - Stranger Results / Weird Behavior

Before anyone asks; no I no longer have a working TrackIR. Sorry, felt the need to get that out of the way; during my search for padlock related posts, I came across one where a poster was very rudely berated for having the audacity to play this combat sim while not owning a TrackIR.
    I've owned a TrackIR before and know how awesome a device they are, but there isn't the funds in my current gaming budget to replace it. As well, I'm exclusively an offline/SP player when it comes to combat sims and I've become comfortable with handling views via a joystick hat.

Anyhow, I'm encountering weird behavior when attempting Internal Padlocking. I'm new to this sim, so I'm not 100% confident that I'm doing the procedure correctly, but there's little to no info on it in the IL-2 CloD manual or other fan-made references I've read. I've mapped the Padlock Next and Padlock Previous commands to joystick buttons and are allowing Padlock views in the Realism settings. When I enter Internal Packlock [F4], I don't notice any change from the standard internal cockpit view. I'm guessing that's the expected result. However, when I press the Padlock Next or Padlock Previous command that are mapped to buttons on my stick, I get a split-second minor shift of my cockpit view, but it returns to normal and no aircraft are ever tracked. Now the weird part, when I fall back to a certain distant from enemy aircraft, my targeting sight disappears. Meanwhile, when I close the distance between me and enemy aircraft, my targeting sight eventually reappears.