Results 1 to 8 of 8

Thread: Install problem resolved: The Big Show Campaign

  1. #1
    Admin ATAG_Snapper's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2011
    Location
    Kitchener, Ontario, Canada
    Posts
    9,258
    Post Thanks / Like
    Total Downloaded
    88.13 MB

    Install problem resolved: The Big Show Campaign

    Hmm, just purchased this new Campaign from the DCS E-shop, after making sure I had the correct DCS World version 2.5.3 installed, the World War II Assets pack installed, plus the Spitfire IX installed. Payment confirmed by PayPal with receipts received by email. Should be able to install it via the Module Manager in the sim's Main Page. No joy. The Campaign is nowhere to be found in any of the Module Manager's tabs for it to be installed. According to the E-shop, the Module Manager should actually automatically install The Big Show Campaign upon opening - no such luck.

    Anyone else purchase this Campaign?

    EDIT: See my post below re Beta DCS World.
    Last edited by ATAG_Snapper; Oct-27-2018 at 09:51. Reason: added more info


    i7 4770K @3.5 GHZ, 24 Gigs DDR3 1600 DIMM, Gigabyte GTX970 4 Gig, Win 10 64 bit, TrackIR 5, TM16000 joystick, TM Warthog Throttle, CH Quadrant, Saitek Pro Combat rudder pedals

  2. #2
    ATAG Member ATAG_Torian's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2011
    Location
    Newcastle, Australia
    Posts
    1,319
    Post Thanks / Like
    Total Downloaded
    104.72 MB

    Re: The Big Show Campaign

    When u log into ur DCS account and go to Profile, is the purchase showing in the My Orders section as being completed ?
    Maybe there is some lag time before the Module manager picks up on ur purchase ?
    IIR correctly I had to reboot DCS a couple of times b4 the Module manager detected my FA18 purchase and could instal it.
    System specs:
    Gaming laptop: Metabox P750ZM, CPU Intel i7-4790K @ 4GHz, GTX 980m with 8Gb DDR5 VRAM, 16Gb Dual channel DDR3 RAM, 2 x Samsung EVO 840 500Gb SSDs, Win10 Home 64bit.

    Gaming PC: Asus Rampage III Gene mobo, i7 960 3.2Ghz cpu (running at 3.8Ghz), Noctua dual HS & fan cpu cooler, 24GB Kingston 1600mhz triple channel ram, Samsung EVO 500GB SSD, Corsair 750w psu, EVGA GTX 1070 6GB vram vid card, Windows 10 Pro 64bit.

  3. #3
    Admin ATAG_Snapper's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2011
    Location
    Kitchener, Ontario, Canada
    Posts
    9,258
    Post Thanks / Like
    Total Downloaded
    88.13 MB

    Re: The Big Show Campaign

    Yes, my profile shows The Big Show as “Bought”. This Campaign doesn’t even show up in the Module Manager at all, not even as being available for purchase. It’s possible it hasn’t been ported over yet by DCS it’s made by a third party.

    For $9.99 I’m not gonna sweat it. It’ll probably show up in a day or two.


    i7 4770K @3.5 GHZ, 24 Gigs DDR3 1600 DIMM, Gigabyte GTX970 4 Gig, Win 10 64 bit, TrackIR 5, TM16000 joystick, TM Warthog Throttle, CH Quadrant, Saitek Pro Combat rudder pedals

  4. #4
    Supporting Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2016
    Location
    Glasgow, Scotland
    Posts
    52
    Post Thanks / Like
    Total Downloaded
    15.95 MB

    Re: The Big Show Campaign

    Resolved
    Last edited by EAF602_Red; Oct-27-2018 at 09:52.
    Target 4 'o' clock low

  5. #5
    Admin ATAG_Snapper's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2011
    Location
    Kitchener, Ontario, Canada
    Posts
    9,258
    Post Thanks / Like
    Total Downloaded
    88.13 MB

    Re: The Big Show Campaign

    Resolved: Checked with ED's tech help. New modules only work with the Beta versions of DCS (at least for awhile). I have an older Beta version of DCS installed on another hard drive. After auto-updating it, sure enough I was prompted to install The Big Show Campaign when I opened the Module Manager. I have to update my peripheral inputs, after which I'll give this new Campaign a whirl.


    i7 4770K @3.5 GHZ, 24 Gigs DDR3 1600 DIMM, Gigabyte GTX970 4 Gig, Win 10 64 bit, TrackIR 5, TM16000 joystick, TM Warthog Throttle, CH Quadrant, Saitek Pro Combat rudder pedals

  6. #6
    Admin ATAG_Snapper's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2011
    Location
    Kitchener, Ontario, Canada
    Posts
    9,258
    Post Thanks / Like
    Total Downloaded
    88.13 MB

    Re: The Big Show Campaign

    Quote Originally Posted by EAF602_Red View Post
    Resolved
    Thanks, Red.

    The DCS tech guy said I could just wait for awhile until it's added to the final 2.5.3 version. Since I had the Beta installed already, it didn't take long to update it to the current Beta version. I tried copy & pasting the controller .lua files I have for the release version, but I found they didn't really copy over well. Easier to just re-enter the inputs manually rather than fuss around too much. But...it's all good.

    I had forgotten how long it takes for DCS to load up from a 7200 rpm hard disk drive compared to the SSD drive I normally use. LOL


    i7 4770K @3.5 GHZ, 24 Gigs DDR3 1600 DIMM, Gigabyte GTX970 4 Gig, Win 10 64 bit, TrackIR 5, TM16000 joystick, TM Warthog Throttle, CH Quadrant, Saitek Pro Combat rudder pedals

  7. #7
    Supporting Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2013
    Posts
    489
    Post Thanks / Like
    Total Downloaded
    0

    Re: Install problem resolved: The Big Show Campaign

    What do you make of the campaign? Is there any kind of trade off needed with settings to get those big formations they talk about?

  8. #8
    Admin ATAG_Snapper's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2011
    Location
    Kitchener, Ontario, Canada
    Posts
    9,258
    Post Thanks / Like
    Total Downloaded
    88.13 MB

    Re: Install problem resolved: The Big Show Campaign

    It’ll be awhile before I actually get to try the Campaign, Ron.

    At least I have it installed now (in the Beta 2.5.3 version). I still need to assign my peripherals and get some serious free time to sit down to it.


    i7 4770K @3.5 GHZ, 24 Gigs DDR3 1600 DIMM, Gigabyte GTX970 4 Gig, Win 10 64 bit, TrackIR 5, TM16000 joystick, TM Warthog Throttle, CH Quadrant, Saitek Pro Combat rudder pedals

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •