Results 1 to 12 of 12

Thread: Getting Ready - Questions

  1. #1
    Student Pilot
    Join Date
    Mar 2019
    Location
    Charleston, NY
    Posts
    3
    Post Thanks / Like
    Total Downloaded
    0

    Getting Ready - Questions

    I Have An Old (2011) IL-2 Cliff Of Dover Disk. If I Install It, Will It Update To The Current Version? Or Will I Have To Purchase IL-2 COD Blitz?

    Back When I Did Fly Sims, I Used A Logitech 3D Extreme. Would That Suffice?

    Do You Fly On A Private Server Or On Steam?

    Thanks In Advance
    loo

  2. Likes farley liked this post
  3. #2
    Admin ATAG_Snapper's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2011
    Location
    Kitchener, Ontario, Canada
    Posts
    9,407
    Post Thanks / Like
    Total Downloaded
    90.16 MB

    Re: Getting Ready - Questions

    Hi loocius, and welcome to the forum.

    Hopefully I get these answers right. So far I believe it’s all good news for you.


    Quote Originally Posted by loocius View Post
    I Have An Old (2011) IL-2 Cliff Of Dover Disk. If I Install It, Will It Update To The Current Version? Or Will I Have To Purchase IL-2 COD Blitz?
    Yes, install it. Steam will recognize that it is a legally-purchased licence (ie not pirated) and will automatically update it to the current 4.55 BLITZ edition.

    Quote Originally Posted by loocius View Post
    Back When I Did Fly Sims, I Used A Logitech 3D Extreme. Would That Suffice?
    Yes, I think that should work fine. Any word from Logitech 3D Extreme owners here on the forum?

    Quote Originally Posted by loocius View Post
    Do You Fly On A Private Server Or On Steam?
    There are a number of private servers that will show up on the Multiplayer window in the game menu. Steam must be running in order to view them and join them. The ATAG server is called Axis versus Allies, there are another half dozen excellent servers to choose from.

    Quote Originally Posted by loocius View Post
    Thanks In Advance
    loo
    My pleasure. Stop in often and ask as many questions as you want!

    Cheers,

    Snapper

    Last edited by ATAG_Snapper; Mar-06-2019 at 19:26. Reason: stoopid spellchequer


    i7 4770K @3.5 GHZ, 24 Gigs DDR3 1600 DIMM, Gigabyte GTX970 4 Gig, Win 10 64 bit, TrackIR 5, TM16000 joystick, TM Warthog Throttle, CH Quadrant, Saitek Pro Combat rudder pedals

  4. Likes danperin, Silent135 liked this post
  5. #3
    Ace 1lokos's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2012
    Posts
    4,440
    Post Thanks / Like
    Total Downloaded
    658.78 MB

    Re: Getting Ready - Questions

    Quote Originally Posted by loocius View Post
    I Have An Old (2011) IL-2 Cliff Of Dover Disk. If I Install It, Will It Update To The Current Version?
    You don't need Install the old disk - nothing good there, just log on your STEAM account - if don't have, create one, is free.

    In STEAM interface click in
    + Add a game
    Choose "Activate a Product in STEAM..."
    Enter your IL-2 CloD DVD serial key.
    Await install, cross the fingers - just in case cross of your right foot too

    After install finish, double click over IL-2 Sturmovik: Cliffs of Dover Blitz shortcut, close your eyes and wait 1/2 minutes.

    Tcharammmmmm!



    or :


  6. Likes ATAG_Snapper, ATAG_Marlow, SD_MBen liked this post
  7. #4
    Supporting Member 69th_Damon's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2015
    Location
    Seattle Wa USA
    Posts
    62
    Post Thanks / Like
    Total Downloaded
    9.34 MB

    Re: Getting Ready - Questions

    I use the same Logitech joy stick, and works for me. But I am sure there are better for a price. Try this and see how it goes.

  8. #5
    Supporting Member SharkBait's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2017
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    208
    Post Thanks / Like
    Total Downloaded
    50.51 MB

    Re: Getting Ready - Questions

    I also used the Logitech Extreme 3D for almost 3 years. I recently switched to the Thrustmaster 16000 but it wasn't because of any major issues with the Logitech stick. I just thought I was due for a slight upgrade

    I noticed that the Logitech stick shows a bit more jitter in sims like DCS (I think mainly because the animation of the stick movement in the cockpit in DCS has a higher "resolution", so to speak), but it has never given me such issues in flight in CLOD.
    System Specs || CPU: Intel i5-4690k 3.5 GHz Quad-core / GPU: Gigabyte GeForce GTX 1060 G1 Gaming 6GB / RAM: Corsair Vengeance DDR3 4GB x 2 / SSD: Samsung Evo 850 500GB and PNY 240GB / OS: Windows 10 Pro
    Flight Equipment || Stick: Logitech Extreme 3D Pro / Throttle: CH Pro Throttle / Pedals: MFG Crosswind / View: Track IR 5

  9. #6
    ATAG Member ATAG_Flare's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2013
    Location
    Interior BC --> Kingston ON
    Posts
    2,474
    Post Thanks / Like
    Blog Entries
    1
    Total Downloaded
    315.55 MB

    Re: Getting Ready - Questions

    Welcome to the community!

    To install it just use the serial key in Steam as 1lokos described.

    The Logitech gets the job done (but that's about it.) I had one for 3 or 4 years but I upgraded to a Defender Cobra M5 (bit of a rare stick, don't know if you can get it anymore) and man was it worth it.

    For a relatively cheap price the Thrustmater T16000 is pretty good - much better sensors than the Logitech but still pretty cheap.

  10. #7
    Student Pilot
    Join Date
    Mar 2019
    Location
    Charleston, NY
    Posts
    3
    Post Thanks / Like
    Total Downloaded
    0

    Re: Getting Ready - Questions

    Seeing That I Have A Blazing DL Speed Of 5Mb/sec, It Would Be Less Aggravating Just To Buy The Disk. Does A Disk Version Even Exist? If So, Where May One Obtain It?

    Just For Kicks.....I Have A Microsoft FFB2 Stick...Never Left The Box....

  11. #8
    Supporting Member Kendy for the State's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2015
    Location
    Wake Forest, NC and Oak Island, NC
    Posts
    350
    Post Thanks / Like
    Total Downloaded
    71.66 MB

    Re: Getting Ready - Questions

    Quote Originally Posted by loocius View Post
    Seeing That I Have A Blazing DL Speed Of 5Mb/sec, It Would Be Less Aggravating Just To Buy The Disk. Does A Disk Version Even Exist? If So, Where May One Obtain It?

    Just For Kicks.....I Have A Microsoft FFB2 Stick...Never Left The Box....
    No, no disk version exists with Blitz. You'll have to bite the bullet and let it download overnight.
    Windows 10 Pro 64-bit
    Intel Xeon 31230 @ 3.20GHz (4 cores - 8 threads)
    16GB RAM
    NVidia GeForce GTX1080 (Asus Rog Strix GTX 1080)
    512GB SSD
    LG 4K 43" TV
    Gear-Falcon General Purpose Joystick Controller
    Gear-Falcon DIY Quadrant and Trim

    "Find out what you don't do well, and then DON'T DO IT!" - Alf

  12. #9
    TF Leadership RAF74_Buzzsaw's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2012
    Posts
    9,301
    Post Thanks / Like
    Total Downloaded
    306.59 MB

    Re: Getting Ready - Questions

    Quote Originally Posted by loocius View Post
    Seeing That I Have A Blazing DL Speed Of 5Mb/sec, It Would Be Less Aggravating Just To Buy The Disk. Does A Disk Version Even Exist? If So, Where May One Obtain It?

    Just For Kicks.....I Have A Microsoft FFB2 Stick...Never Left The Box....
    In my opinion that Microsoft FFB2 stick is the best ever built for flight sims... including CoD.

    Having the FFB allows you to ride the edge of the stall much more accurately than a non-FFB stick.

    But it does work best with rudder pedals... although it has a twist rudder feature.

  13. Likes dazza liked this post
  14. #10
    Student Pilot
    Join Date
    Mar 2019
    Location
    Charleston, NY
    Posts
    3
    Post Thanks / Like
    Total Downloaded
    0

    Re: Getting Ready - Questions

    Good News!!! I've Got it Downloaded And Running. Yes, It Does Look Nice!!!!

    1) I've Been Told That The Sidewinder Products No Longer Run On Window 7 Or Better. Which Leads Me To...
    2) Since It Doesn't Auto Detect Sticks And Assign Actions, Could You Send Me Your Set-ups. It Would Be Greatly Appreciated.

  15. Likes DRock liked this post
  16. #11
    Admin ATAG_Snapper's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2011
    Location
    Kitchener, Ontario, Canada
    Posts
    9,407
    Post Thanks / Like
    Total Downloaded
    90.16 MB

    Re: Getting Ready - Questions

    I have a Sidewinder 2 FFB and it works very well with Blitz and Windows 10.


    i7 4770K @3.5 GHZ, 24 Gigs DDR3 1600 DIMM, Gigabyte GTX970 4 Gig, Win 10 64 bit, TrackIR 5, TM16000 joystick, TM Warthog Throttle, CH Quadrant, Saitek Pro Combat rudder pedals

  17. #12
    Supporting Member DRock's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2013
    Location
    South Pole, Antarctica
    Posts
    2,746
    Post Thanks / Like
    Total Downloaded
    71.41 MB

    Re: Getting Ready - Questions

    Quote Originally Posted by loocius View Post
    I Have An Old (2011) IL-2 Cliff Of Dover Disk. If I Install It, Will It Update To The Current Version? Or Will I Have To Purchase IL-2 COD Blitz?

    Back When I Did Fly Sims, I Used A Logitech 3D Extreme. Would That Suffice?

    Do You Fly On A Private Server Or On Steam?

    Thanks In Advance
    loo
    Hello, loocius.

    Welcome to our skies.


    I had that same joy. It worked fine.


    Cheers

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •