Thread: Multi-Camera Editing in Adobe Premiere Pro CS6

Post Thanks / Like
    Total Downloaded
    406.29 MB

Multi-Camera Editing in Adobe Premiere Pro CS6

Hi everyone,

I have an Olde and Ancient version of Adobe's Premiere Pro CS6 which I've been using for video editing for roughly 10 years. One of the most frustrating issues I've encountered is when working through multi-cam editing with this version is getting the audio to follow the video when switching from one angle (camera) to another. CS6 defaults to Audio Channel 1 linked to Video Camera 1; the audio channels for the remaining video cameras are muted. What happens is when you switch from an inside cockpit view (Camera 1) to an external view (Cameras 2, 3, 4, etc) the audio you hear is still Camera 1's cockpit sound. (This is because most multi-cam video editing involves just one "good" sound ie. a singer or musician - you can switch around angles/cameras on the artist, but you just want the "good" sound to be constant).

Obviously, this doesn't work for making movies of Blitz where you want the sound to switch over to whatever the camera is showing.

I'm working on a little video project, putting together a quick Blitz video of a Hurricane being scrambled from Hawkinge to intercept a raiding 110 approaching Folkstone at wavetop height. I had noticed an interesting tattoo of a Hurricane on a friend's forearm. His grandfather flew them in the War; the Hurricane tattoo has "RORY" emblazoned on the side in honour of Eric's 3 year old son, Rory.

Although no fighter squadron had the R-RY code letters during the Battle of Britain, ATAG_Noofy helped me out with a custom paint scheme.

Other credits go to Fritz Wolf for his "Wespe" 110 paint scheme, and Fred901 for the fantastically-detailed Hawkinge airfield layout.

Here's a screenshot from the Premiere Pro CS6 Project Editor showing, in this case, 6 different track videos I made showing the same action from 6 different perspectives: