Results 1 to 7 of 7

Thread: Mfg crosswind rudder pedals

  1. #1
    Combat pilot heinzknocke's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2013
    Location
    stow lincolnshire england 5 miles from RAF SCAMPTON
    Posts
    108
    Post Thanks / Like
    Total Downloaded
    979.16 MB

    Mfg crosswind rudder pedals

    Ive just received a pair of MFG CROSSWIND PEDALS they are fantastic, but how do I make them less sensitive ie when I push the rudder the brakes come on and I only have to rest my feet on the pedals and the brakes come on, how do I fix this ? This is the first time ive used pedals. It appears that I don't actually have to press the pedals for the brakes to come on.

    Thanks

    Heinz

  2. Likes ATAG_Lord Wukits liked this post
  3. #2
    ATAG Member ATAG_Noofy's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2019
    Location
    GMT+2
    Posts
    318
    Post Thanks / Like
    Total Downloaded
    373.32 MB

    Re: Mfg crosswind rudder pedals

    Quote Originally Posted by heinzknocke View Post
    Ive just received a pair of MFG CROSSWIND PEDALS they are fantastic, but how do I make them less sensitive ie when I push the rudder the brakes come on and I only have to rest my feet on the pedals and the brakes come on, how do I fix this ? This is the first time ive used pedals. It appears that I don't actually have to press the pedals for the brakes to come on.

    Thanks

    Heinz
    In your controls setting, make sure you assign your left-right toe brakes in the Axes menu, and increase the sensitivity (I have mine set to 1, but this is personal so try what works best for you).
    You can also set dead zones as appropriate so that the breaks do not go off until a certain amount of pressure is applied.

    Good luck
    Gigabyte Z390 UD | i7 9700K @3.60GHz | 16.0 GB | Windows 10 Pro 64-Bit | NVIDIA GeForce GTX 1070 Ti
    T16000M FCS HOTAS | CH_PRO Pedals | TrackIR 5 | TeamSpeak 3.3.0 | TS Notifier 1.6.0h

  4. Likes ATAG_Lord Wukits liked this post
  5. #3
    ATAG Member ATAG_Lord Wukits's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2015
    Posts
    170
    Post Thanks / Like
    Total Downloaded
    293.24 MB

    Re: Mfg crosswind rudder pedals

    Congrats on getting the best [IMHO] rudder pedals in the world!

    Like Noofy said, play with the sensitivity adjustments in the game.

  6. #4
    Veteran Combat pilot Bonditaria's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2015
    Location
    Rotterdam
    Posts
    322
    Post Thanks / Like
    Total Downloaded
    1.40 GB

    Re: Mfg crosswind rudder pedals

    Quote Originally Posted by heinzknocke View Post
    Ive just received a pair of MFG CROSSWIND PEDALS they are fantastic, but how do I make them less sensitive ie when I push the rudder the brakes come on and I only have to rest my feet on the pedals and the brakes come on, how do I fix this ? This is the first time ive used pedals. It appears that I don't actually have to press the pedals for the brakes to come on.

    Thanks

    Heinz
    You may want to configure the hardware... to adjust the brake pedal so you have to push harder:


  7. #5
    Combat pilot heinzknocke's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2013
    Location
    stow lincolnshire england 5 miles from RAF SCAMPTON
    Posts
    108
    Post Thanks / Like
    Total Downloaded
    979.16 MB

    Re: Mfg crosswind rudder pedals

    Thanks for the replies got the brakes sorted well sort of, they appear in the options screen and appear to work, but when I try to use them on the plane nothing no brakes. In the spitfire the dial that shows them working nothing happens, is there something im missing in the options page.

    Heinz

  8. #6
    Admin ATAG_Snapper's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2011
    Location
    Kitchener, Ontario, Canada
    Posts
    9,617
    Post Thanks / Like
    Total Downloaded
    119.89 MB

    Re: Mfg crosswind rudder pedals

    The RAF brakes work completely different to the Axis brakes.

    The left and right toe brakes do not work on the RAF aircraft. In Options/Controls you have two options to operate RAF brakes. I’ve assigned an axis (the throttle lever on my joystick) to Brakes. This gives me the greatest control. To brake you simply deploy that axis lever; to turn you simultaneously use your rudder pedals (not the toe brakes) to steer in the desired direction.

    You can also opt to assign a keyboard key or joystick button to Brakes. It’s a little bit trickier in that the key/button fully deploys the air brakes, easily flipping you on your nose if you’re moving. You very quickly learn to tap the key/button in rapid succession rather than hold the key/button down firmly, unless you’re almost fully stopped or in the process of steering with your rudder pedals.

    Hope this helps.



    i7 4770K @3.5 GHZ, 24 Gigs DDR3 1600 DIMM, Gigabyte GTX970 4 Gig, Win 10 64 bit, TrackIR 5, TM16000 joystick, TM Warthog Throttle, CH Quadrant, Saitek Pro Combat rudder pedals

  9. #7
    Ace 1lokos's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2012
    Posts
    4,524
    Post Thanks / Like
    Total Downloaded
    702.74 MB

    Re: Mfg crosswind rudder pedals

    Back in IL-2:46 days are common fake a mix of "toe brakes+differential brakes " for Il-2, Spitfire etc, by editing config files and duplicating the entry for "wheel brakes" and define in each one this lines one of brake pedal axis. In CloD will be something like this (in ConfUser.INI):

    _VKB-Sim_Gladiator_-46A5DF5B+AXE_RX=-1brakes
    _VKB-Sim_Gladiator_-46A5DF5B+AXE_RZ=-1brakes

    I game, press right or left brake, this will brake both wheels and then move rudder for right for brake only right wheel. Same for left.

    The drawback is if in game enter in controls options, this manual assignment is erased.

    An less complicated way is use MFG Configurator software and then define that right and left brakes axis will press buttons. Function "Virtual Button" available in this software.

    https://mfg.simundza.com/downloads

    In CloD controls assign one this buttons, eg. the one in right brake pedal for "Wheel brakes", then select this command and click in NEW* will crate a new line for "Wheel brakes", assign the button in left brake pedal.

    * This "NEW" copy work only for commands done by key/button, unfortunately don't work for axes commands.

    The usage is too in "differential" way, press one of brake pedal, what brake both wheels, then move rudder for right (or left) for brake only one wheel.
    Last edited by 1lokos; Jul-18-2019 at 01:36.

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •