Results 1 to 11 of 11

Thread: High monitor refresh rate problem in multipalyer

  1. #1
    ATAG Member ATAG_Highseas's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2016
    Location
    Peurto del Slade, UK
    Posts
    5,512
    Post Thanks / Like
    Total Downloaded
    571.41 MB

    High monitor refresh rate problem in multipalyer

    Some time ago I ran into issues with high monitor refresh rates. Was using a 1080ti and anything above 100hz refresh rate on multi player servers resulted in very very long log in times and upon spawning in, an exploded plane.

    Only in multiplayer mind. Single player was fine.

    I know ATAGs Knight and Vampire also experienced this.

    Then I got a 2080ti (business had performed well and suddenly the home office needed one ) and 144hz was no issue at all in the servers. Huzzar! Right up until the last patch update… and now its back as it was before. anything above 100hz causes the same problems.

    Now…. 100hz isn’t exactly a problem by any stretch! But if you have a machine capable or far beyond this and the option for 144hz is available in game then naturally you would choose to use it.

    My concern here is that if I was a new player who didn’t already have experience that the game (for whatever reason) doesn’t work properly above 100hz on multiplayer servers I’d assume the game didn’t work at all and most likely just walk away and do something else.

    Last night was the first time I fired up Cliffs in a while. It ended up being a couple of hours of frustration I could have done without and then (to put it in the server speak) “ATAG_Highseas rage quit”.

    Maybe there should be a big sign slapped on the in game menu that says “do not go above 100hz refresh rate in multiplayer”.

    Anyone else had the same ?


    - ASUS ROG STRIX Z370-E - i7-8700k - ASUS RTX 2080 Ti ROG STRIX OC GAMING - 32GB Corsair Vengeance DDR4 3000MHz -
    - CORSAIR 850W RMx Series PSU - Noctua NH-U14S CPU Cooler -
    - Virpil T50 Mongoos with Warthog Grip plus Extension Set -
    - TM Warthog Throttle -
    - Slaw Device 109 Cam Rudder Pedals -
    - HighseasPeripherals(tm) - Engine Switch Panel - Munitions Switch Panel - Throttle Quadrant Trim Box - Helicopter Collective - Analogue Brake Lever -

    (Operated by a 1972 Standard Issue Talking Monkey)

  2. #2
    Supporting Member TWC_Mackers's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2013
    Location
    Hernia Bay, Kent, UK
    Posts
    79
    Post Thanks / Like
    Total Downloaded
    79.3 KB

    Re: High monitor refresh rate problem in multipalyer

    Not to nit-pick here chap, but I think a new player would leave the graphics set to 'default' and charge right in. Upon changing the 'default' graphics and then experiencing problems - a new player would generally revert to 'default' - then ask questions somewhere - like here?

    Now if the game sets that setting as 'default' then yes, there is a problem that should be looked into, urgently. If the default setting results in a fiery death upon spawn - thats far away from good.

    If you could clarify if the game automatically assigned that setting or not - that would help the lads look into what needs to be changed and how urgently.

    Just trying to help, not trying to p$$$ on your preferences old bean <3

    Zx Spectrum, 48k. Mono tape player. Loose 3.5mm Jacks that need a wiggle once and a while.

  3. Likes ATAG_Highseas liked this post
  4. #3
    Supporting Member JG4_Karaya's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2013
    Posts
    966
    Post Thanks / Like
    Total Downloaded
    105.53 MB

    Re: High monitor refresh rate problem in multipalyer

    Did you check if your monitor refresh rate is set to the same value both in Windows own display settings and in the ingame video settings?
    I myself have not had any problems in MP since going from a 60Hz to 144Hz monitor.

  5. #4
    ATAG Member ATAG_Highseas's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2016
    Location
    Peurto del Slade, UK
    Posts
    5,512
    Post Thanks / Like
    Total Downloaded
    571.41 MB

    Re: High monitor refresh rate problem in multipalyer

    Quote Originally Posted by TWC_Mackers View Post
    Not to nit-pick here chap, but I think a new player would leave the graphics set to 'default' and charge right in. Upon changing the 'default' graphics and then experiencing problems - a new player would generally revert to 'default' - then ask questions somewhere - like here?

    Now if the game sets that setting as 'default' then yes, there is a problem that should be looked into, urgently. If the default setting results in a fiery death upon spawn - thats far away from good.

    If you could clarify if the game automatically assigned that setting or not - that would help the lads look into what needs to be changed and how urgently.

    Just trying to help, not trying to p$$$ on your preferences old bean <3

    No. Its not set like that as default. At least i don't think so... i have no idea actually....

    Its not a massive drama.as i can set it to 100hz and its fine.
    Its just odd to have the option when its problematic.


    - ASUS ROG STRIX Z370-E - i7-8700k - ASUS RTX 2080 Ti ROG STRIX OC GAMING - 32GB Corsair Vengeance DDR4 3000MHz -
    - CORSAIR 850W RMx Series PSU - Noctua NH-U14S CPU Cooler -
    - Virpil T50 Mongoos with Warthog Grip plus Extension Set -
    - TM Warthog Throttle -
    - Slaw Device 109 Cam Rudder Pedals -
    - HighseasPeripherals(tm) - Engine Switch Panel - Munitions Switch Panel - Throttle Quadrant Trim Box - Helicopter Collective - Analogue Brake Lever -

    (Operated by a 1972 Standard Issue Talking Monkey)

  6. #5
    ATAG Member ATAG_Highseas's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2016
    Location
    Peurto del Slade, UK
    Posts
    5,512
    Post Thanks / Like
    Total Downloaded
    571.41 MB

    Re: High monitor refresh rate problem in multipalyer

    Quote Originally Posted by JG4_Karaya View Post
    Did you check if your monitor refresh rate is set to the same value both in Windows own display settings and in the ingame video settings?
    I myself have not had any problems in MP since going from a 60Hz to 144Hz monitor.
    Think so.... I will check later.

    EDIT:

    Yep ! Windows at 144hz
    Last edited by ATAG_Highseas; Nov-12-2019 at 15:29.


    - ASUS ROG STRIX Z370-E - i7-8700k - ASUS RTX 2080 Ti ROG STRIX OC GAMING - 32GB Corsair Vengeance DDR4 3000MHz -
    - CORSAIR 850W RMx Series PSU - Noctua NH-U14S CPU Cooler -
    - Virpil T50 Mongoos with Warthog Grip plus Extension Set -
    - TM Warthog Throttle -
    - Slaw Device 109 Cam Rudder Pedals -
    - HighseasPeripherals(tm) - Engine Switch Panel - Munitions Switch Panel - Throttle Quadrant Trim Box - Helicopter Collective - Analogue Brake Lever -

    (Operated by a 1972 Standard Issue Talking Monkey)

  7. #6
    Supporting Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2015
    Posts
    176
    Post Thanks / Like
    Total Downloaded
    156.82 MB

    Re: High monitor refresh rate problem in multipalyer

    Have seen this happen to a squadron member of us.
    Very long times to connect to a server, even to not connecting in the end ...

    And I have seen it myself too (144hz G-Sync, 1920x1080, GTX1080ti), but at the moment it's not a problem for me.
    (Running Pseudo now, but for the life of me, cannot remember why that is...)

    It is weird though...
    Happy Member of the DangerDogz ...

  8. #7
    ATAG Member ATAG_Highseas's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2016
    Location
    Peurto del Slade, UK
    Posts
    5,512
    Post Thanks / Like
    Total Downloaded
    571.41 MB

    Re: High monitor refresh rate problem in multipalyer

    Quote Originally Posted by DD_FT View Post
    Have seen this happen to a squadron member of us.
    Very long times to connect to a server, even to not connecting in the end ...

    And I have seen it myself too (144hz G-Sync, 1920x1080, GTX1080ti), but at the moment it's not a problem for me.
    (Running Pseudo now, but for the life of me, cannot remember why that is...)

    It is weird though...
    That it is !!

    I ran Pseudo on my 1080ti because it suddenly wouldnt work with anything else... I forget when that started... its was during on oif the early beta tests of 4.5

    I don't think Cliffs gets on with the 1080ti very well... 980ti before that had no issues at all.

    the 2080ti has been fine in full screen... and was ok at 144hz right up until the last patch


    100 is fine obviously... but yeah... it's an odd one for sure.
    Last edited by ATAG_Highseas; Nov-12-2019 at 15:33.


    - ASUS ROG STRIX Z370-E - i7-8700k - ASUS RTX 2080 Ti ROG STRIX OC GAMING - 32GB Corsair Vengeance DDR4 3000MHz -
    - CORSAIR 850W RMx Series PSU - Noctua NH-U14S CPU Cooler -
    - Virpil T50 Mongoos with Warthog Grip plus Extension Set -
    - TM Warthog Throttle -
    - Slaw Device 109 Cam Rudder Pedals -
    - HighseasPeripherals(tm) - Engine Switch Panel - Munitions Switch Panel - Throttle Quadrant Trim Box - Helicopter Collective - Analogue Brake Lever -

    (Operated by a 1972 Standard Issue Talking Monkey)

  9. #8
    Supporting Member TWC_Mackers's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2013
    Location
    Hernia Bay, Kent, UK
    Posts
    79
    Post Thanks / Like
    Total Downloaded
    79.3 KB

    Re: High monitor refresh rate problem in multipalyer

    Quote Originally Posted by ATAG_Highseas View Post
    No. Its not set like that as default. At least i don't think so... i have no idea actually....

    Its not a massive drama.as i can set it to 100hz and its fine.
    Its just odd to have the option when its problematic.

    I think the game pulls that information from Windows/Driver/Software/etc - it's a "dumb-pull" it doesn't work out what will work or not - just pulls from the same list as shown in desktop display options or similar. Atleast, that is where having options that don't/might not/should not work comes from.
    Zx Spectrum, 48k. Mono tape player. Loose 3.5mm Jacks that need a wiggle once and a while.

  10. Likes ATAG_Highseas liked this post
  11. #9
    ATAG Member ATAG_Highseas's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2016
    Location
    Peurto del Slade, UK
    Posts
    5,512
    Post Thanks / Like
    Total Downloaded
    571.41 MB

    Re: High monitor refresh rate problem in multipalyer

    Quote Originally Posted by TWC_Mackers View Post
    I think the game pulls that information from Windows/Driver/Software/etc - it's a "dumb-pull" it doesn't work out what will work or not - just pulls from the same list as shown in desktop display options or similar. Atleast, that is where having options that don't/might not/should not work comes from.
    Ha... just clocked your system specs in your sig....

    Gotta ask...

    Is the tape player running as standard or do you run it at an overclock by releasing the play button and then holding it about half way engaged?


    - ASUS ROG STRIX Z370-E - i7-8700k - ASUS RTX 2080 Ti ROG STRIX OC GAMING - 32GB Corsair Vengeance DDR4 3000MHz -
    - CORSAIR 850W RMx Series PSU - Noctua NH-U14S CPU Cooler -
    - Virpil T50 Mongoos with Warthog Grip plus Extension Set -
    - TM Warthog Throttle -
    - Slaw Device 109 Cam Rudder Pedals -
    - HighseasPeripherals(tm) - Engine Switch Panel - Munitions Switch Panel - Throttle Quadrant Trim Box - Helicopter Collective - Analogue Brake Lever -

    (Operated by a 1972 Standard Issue Talking Monkey)

  12. Likes TWC_Mackers liked this post
  13. #10
    Supporting Member TWC_Mackers's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2013
    Location
    Hernia Bay, Kent, UK
    Posts
    79
    Post Thanks / Like
    Total Downloaded
    79.3 KB

    Re: High monitor refresh rate problem in multipalyer

    Yes, 'Chipmunk Sounds' or 'Alvin Setting' make everything run faster

    This is limited to 5 minutes however, because at somepoint the stretch slows everything down to less than a record players 33rpm setting.
    Zx Spectrum, 48k. Mono tape player. Loose 3.5mm Jacks that need a wiggle once and a while.

  14. #11
    ATAG Member ATAG_Highseas's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2016
    Location
    Peurto del Slade, UK
    Posts
    5,512
    Post Thanks / Like
    Total Downloaded
    571.41 MB

    Re: High monitor refresh rate problem in multipalyer

    Quote Originally Posted by TWC_Mackers View Post
    Yes, 'Chipmunk Sounds' or 'Alvin Setting' make everything run faster

    This is limited to 5 minutes however, because at somepoint the stretch slows everything down to less than a record players 33rpm setting.


    - ASUS ROG STRIX Z370-E - i7-8700k - ASUS RTX 2080 Ti ROG STRIX OC GAMING - 32GB Corsair Vengeance DDR4 3000MHz -
    - CORSAIR 850W RMx Series PSU - Noctua NH-U14S CPU Cooler -
    - Virpil T50 Mongoos with Warthog Grip plus Extension Set -
    - TM Warthog Throttle -
    - Slaw Device 109 Cam Rudder Pedals -
    - HighseasPeripherals(tm) - Engine Switch Panel - Munitions Switch Panel - Throttle Quadrant Trim Box - Helicopter Collective - Analogue Brake Lever -

    (Operated by a 1972 Standard Issue Talking Monkey)

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •