Thread: What is possible?

Student Pilot
    Post Thanks / Like
    Total Downloaded

Question What is possible?

Hi guys,

So I'm very new to Cliffs of Dover, I only bought it yesterday(!) and booted it up for the first time this morning after leaving Steam to download for many hours ...

I know nothing about the history of CoD, tend to ignore "community politics" and so on. I see too many people, factions and so on spend too long on the internet arguing about this detail and that detail and which sim or mod is better (yawn). I'm too old for all that nonsense - when you get a bit older you realise that the minutes spent arguing and obsessing over something are a waste, and can't ever be retrieved. Don't obsess, just build it / play it, and enjoy

Anyway, bit surprised. I only learned yesterday when reading up about Cliffs of Dover that Oleg left Maddox Games. I didn't see that coming, and thought he'd be busy beavering away on his next piece of work. I met him briefly at a sim show in Birmingham a few years ago and he was a great guy to listen to, very very passionate about his work and we were all appreciative that he travelled from Russia to make his presentation.

So of course I've only had time to configure my controls (woohoo, my X36/X35 still works) and run through the takeoff and landing training missions. The environment is very immersive and even the feeling of taxing authentic. Last year I flew in a Stearman and the view from the Tiger Moth put me right back in the cockpit. The Stearman is a fantastic plane, beautiful in every way.

My question is, and I suppose it's somewhat unknown at the moment, but what is possible with modding? I see from various web sites (Airwarfare for example), some scripting examples. One specific question, is it possible to define the initial state of an object, eg bridge x starts off destroyed? Or maybe within the script make some initial actions to set it destroyed?