Results 1 to 7 of 7

Thread: Moving Game from Hard Drive to SSD

  1. #1
    Novice Pilot Little Bill's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2018
    Location
    Burbank, Washington, USA
    Posts
    48
    Post Thanks / Like
    Total Downloaded
    352.72 MB

    Moving Game from Hard Drive to SSD

    Reading recent threads has again got me interested in transferring my game from the hard drive to the SSD. I have been putting this off for 2 years because I don't know what to expect after it is done. So I am asking for advise, what precautions should I take to save important settings and files like Skins?

    My game has been stable as a rock, works fine etc. I am doing this to gain a little speed in loading and operation (I hope).

    I am going to go to Steam, remove the game and reinstall on the SSD. Any comments on that approach?
    Found this thread here on how to set up the move.. https://theairtacticalassaultgroup.c...nstalling+game

  2. #2
    ATAG Member ATAG_Ribbs's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2012
    Posts
    1,859
    Post Thanks / Like
    Total Downloaded
    4.11 MB

    Re: Moving Game from Hard Drive to SSD

    I think you will enjoy the results.. just save all your .ini files in another place. This will insure your setting will be saved. I would also think about moving your OS over as well on a separate one in the future. Your computer will boot amazingly quick. As for now tho moving CLOD over will work great.
    Last edited by ATAG_Ribbs; Jan-27-2020 at 12:08.
    Cheers
    Ribbs

    INTEL I5 4670 /16 MB DDR3/ MSI Z97 PCMATE MB
    MSI GTX 1060 3 GIG
    WIN 7 64
    MS Sidewinder 2 precision pro Saitek x52 throttle quadrant


    By ATAG_Lewis

  3. Likes Little Bill liked this post
  4. #3
    Supporting Member Baffin's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2013
    Location
    Northwestern Virginia, USA
    Posts
    1,739
    Post Thanks / Like
    Total Downloaded
    127.26 MB

    Re: Moving Game from Hard Drive to SSD

    I have done this multiple times and never had a problem.

    1. Download and install "Macrium Reflect Free edition" https://www.macrium.com/reflectfree

    2. Physically install your new SSD (It must be at least as large as your existing drive), restart the machine, and make sure Windows recognizes it. It will have a new Letter "D:" or something like that. You may want to format it but don't worry about partitions. Macrium does all that.

    CLONE YOUR EXISTING DRIVE

    3. Start Macrium Reflect. It should default to the "Create a Backup" tab, showing your existing Hard drive's partitions at the top in a series of blue boxes. Beneath this, is the new SSD Drive's partitions blue boxes. (Probably empty)

    4. Click on the "Clone this disk..." link under your system partitions.

    5. Click on the "Select a disk to clone to..." link.

    6. Select your new SSD by clicking on the blue box. Look for the tiny label for "SSD" somewhere in there.

    7. Click on the "Delete Existing partition" link. This affects only the new drive, not your original.

    8. Respond logically to the following messages until the cloning procedure starts. (I can't list them here for you, or I'll clone my 2nd drive as I write this.) This takes up to a couple of hours, depending on how much data is on the original drive.

    9. When finished, shut down the machine.

    10. Physically remove your original, unchanged (Only copied to your SSD) data drive.

    11. Start the machine, take a breath, and before you can exhale, you can log on to Windows! (Almost)

    12. Rename your new SSD's C:\ name to whatever you like.

    12. Wait a few weeks or so until you're convinced that everything works. Then, you may re-install the original drive and re-name it as a backup, or re-format it as a data drive with the letter of your choice. You may also store it offsite in your garage, car, etc. as an emergency backup in case your computer is stolen or destroyed. I clone my SSD about once a month back to the hard disk and store it in the garage in a plain, brown wrapper in case of disaster. Windows will start in any new machine with the customary warning from Microsoft that it needs activation since your hardware has changed.
    Last edited by Baffin; Jan-27-2020 at 12:48.
    Windows 10 Pro 64-bit, ASUS TUF X299 MARK 1 (LGA 2066 R4), Intel Core i7 7800X, CoolerMaster Hyper 212 Cooler, 32.0GB RAM@1386MHz (16-17-17-36), LG 55" 4K OLEDC7P TV, 2-way SLI using NVIDIA GeForce GTX 1080 Ti's (MSI), 2x Samsung M.2 SSD 970/960 EVO 1TB, Realtek High Definition Audio, Sony Surround amp for 5.1 speakers, Ear Buds for Discord/TeamSpeak3, ASUS Blu-Ray BW-12B1ST, TrackIR5, Buttkicker Gamer, Thrustmaster Warthog, Saitek X-52 (Trim & Gear), Saitek Pro Flight Combat Rudder Pedals, Voice Activated Controls. Overclock CPU: 4.5 GHz, using BIOS features. Overclock GPU: +62/+350 (MSI Afterburner). Air Cooling (GPU:<70°/CPU:<80°). Using NVIDIA color settings: Highest-8bpc/YCbCr444-Limited.

  5. #4
    Novice Pilot Little Bill's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2018
    Location
    Burbank, Washington, USA
    Posts
    48
    Post Thanks / Like
    Total Downloaded
    352.72 MB

    Re: Moving Game from Hard Drive to SSD

    THANK YOU Ribbs and Baffin.

    Baffin, a question. The SSD has been attached to my PC for about 3 years. I used it to keep backup files from email as I have a small (very small) in home business. I changed email programs sometime back and as far as I can determine the auto backup process has not been working since that time. What I think I want to do is only put COD and associated files on the SSD and leave the harddrive as is. I did check and the hard drive and the SSD are both 1 TB devices. The hard drive is 3/4 full, the SSD right now is 1/3 full, but all of files on it now are coming off. Does my plan make sense?

  6. #5
    Supporting Member Baffin's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2013
    Location
    Northwestern Virginia, USA
    Posts
    1,739
    Post Thanks / Like
    Total Downloaded
    127.26 MB

    Re: Moving Game from Hard Drive to SSD

    Makes no sense to me... Either clone your entire system to the SSD, in which case all your emails will be there, or leave it alone. If the backups are no longer available from the SSD, there should be no data loss from cloning.

    If the SSD now holds data you want to keep, copy those data folders to the hard drive into a new folder such as [C:\OldData] or whatever you choose. Then clone the entire hard drive onto the SSD and use the hard drive as a backup, or reconfigure it however you like. Either technique will preserve your data.

    I can't see the point of installing CLoD onto a 1 TB drive by itself.
    Last edited by Baffin; Jan-27-2020 at 15:27.
    Windows 10 Pro 64-bit, ASUS TUF X299 MARK 1 (LGA 2066 R4), Intel Core i7 7800X, CoolerMaster Hyper 212 Cooler, 32.0GB RAM@1386MHz (16-17-17-36), LG 55" 4K OLEDC7P TV, 2-way SLI using NVIDIA GeForce GTX 1080 Ti's (MSI), 2x Samsung M.2 SSD 970/960 EVO 1TB, Realtek High Definition Audio, Sony Surround amp for 5.1 speakers, Ear Buds for Discord/TeamSpeak3, ASUS Blu-Ray BW-12B1ST, TrackIR5, Buttkicker Gamer, Thrustmaster Warthog, Saitek X-52 (Trim & Gear), Saitek Pro Flight Combat Rudder Pedals, Voice Activated Controls. Overclock CPU: 4.5 GHz, using BIOS features. Overclock GPU: +62/+350 (MSI Afterburner). Air Cooling (GPU:<70°/CPU:<80°). Using NVIDIA color settings: Highest-8bpc/YCbCr444-Limited.

  7. #6
    Novice Pilot Little Bill's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2018
    Location
    Burbank, Washington, USA
    Posts
    48
    Post Thanks / Like
    Total Downloaded
    352.72 MB

    Re: Moving Game from Hard Drive to SSD

    Quote Originally Posted by Baffin View Post
    Makes no sense to me... Either clone your entire system to the SSD, in which case all your emails will be there, or leave it alone. If the backups are no longer available from the SSD, there should be no data loss from cloning.

    If the SSD now holds data you want to keep, copy those data folders to the hard drive into a new folder such as [C:\OldData] or whatever you choose. Then clone the entire hard drive onto the SSD and use the hard drive as a backup, or reconfigure it however you like. Either technique will preserve your data.

    I can't see the point of installing CLoD onto a 1 TB drive by itself.


    OK, that tells me a lot. I will do as you suggest. Thanks

  8. #7
    ATAG Member ATAG_Highseas's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2016
    Location
    Peurto del Slade, UK
    Posts
    5,615
    Post Thanks / Like
    Total Downloaded
    571.41 MB

    Re: Moving Game from Hard Drive to SSD

    Quote Originally Posted by Baffin View Post
    I have done this multiple times and never had a problem.

    1. Download and install "Macrium Reflect Free edition" https://www.macrium.com/reflectfree

    2. Physically install your new SSD (It must be at least as large as your existing drive), restart the machine, and make sure Windows recognizes it. It will have a new Letter "D:" or something like that. You may want to format it but don't worry about partitions. Macrium does all that.

    CLONE YOUR EXISTING DRIVE

    3. Start Macrium Reflect. It should default to the "Create a Backup" tab, showing your existing Hard drive's partitions at the top in a series of blue boxes. Beneath this, is the new SSD Drive's partitions blue boxes. (Probably empty)

    4. Click on the "Clone this disk..." link under your system partitions.

    5. Click on the "Select a disk to clone to..." link.

    6. Select your new SSD by clicking on the blue box. Look for the tiny label for "SSD" somewhere in there.

    7. Click on the "Delete Existing partition" link. This affects only the new drive, not your original.

    8. Respond logically to the following messages until the cloning procedure starts. (I can't list them here for you, or I'll clone my 2nd drive as I write this.) This takes up to a couple of hours, depending on how much data is on the original drive.

    9. When finished, shut down the machine.

    10. Physically remove your original, unchanged (Only copied to your SSD) data drive.

    11. Start the machine, take a breath, and before you can exhale, you can log on to Windows! (Almost)

    12. Rename your new SSD's C:\ name to whatever you like.

    12. Wait a few weeks or so until you're convinced that everything works. Then, you may re-install the original drive and re-name it as a backup, or re-format it as a data drive with the letter of your choice. You may also store it offsite in your garage, car, etc. as an emergency backup in case your computer is stolen or destroyed. I clone my SSD about once a month back to the hard disk and store it in the garage in a plain, brown wrapper in case of disaster. Windows will start in any new machine with the customary warning from Microsoft that it needs activation since your hardware has changed.


    I do this a lot. and it was Baffin who first pointed me at Macrium Rflect

    brilliant method of backing up your pc / swapping drives.


    - ASUS ROG STRIX Z370-E - i7-8700k - ASUS RTX 2080 Ti ROG STRIX OC GAMING - 32GB Corsair Vengeance DDR4 3000MHz -
    - CORSAIR 850W RMx Series PSU - Noctua NH-U14S CPU Cooler -
    - Virpil T50 Mongoos with Warthog Grip plus Extension Set -
    - TM Warthog Throttle -
    - Slaw Device 109 Cam Rudder Pedals -
    - HighseasPeripherals(tm) - Engine Switch Panel - Munitions Switch Panel - Throttle Quadrant Trim Box - Helicopter Collective - Analogue Brake Lever -

    (Operated by a 1972 Standard Issue Talking Monkey)

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •