Thread: Moving Game from Hard Drive to SSD

Post Thanks / Like
    Total Downloaded
    465.46 MB

Moving Game from Hard Drive to SSD

Reading recent threads has again got me interested in transferring my game from the hard drive to the SSD. I have been putting this off for 2 years because I don't know what to expect after it is done. So I am asking for advise, what precautions should I take to save important settings and files like Skins?

My game has been stable as a rock, works fine etc. I am doing this to gain a little speed in loading and operation (I hope).

I am going to go to Steam, remove the game and reinstall on the SSD. Any comments on that approach?
    Found this thread here on how to set up the move.. https://theairtacticalassaultgroup.c...nstalling+game

I7 12700K @ 4.8Ghz|RTX 3080Ti|32GB DDR4|1TB NvMe l LG OLED 48”TV|1440P @120Hz|VKB STECS l VKB Gunfighter III/100mm extension l MFG V3 Pedals l Falcon Gear Quadrant l TIR 5 l Cloud X Headphone|Widows 11, C:\Program Files (x86)Steam\steamapps\common\IL-2 Sturmovik Cliffs of Dover Blitz|20Mbs dl, 2Mbs ul

Post Thanks / Like
    Total Downloaded
    4.11 MB

Re: Moving Game from Hard Drive to SSD

I think you will enjoy the results.. just save all your .ini files in another place. This will insure your setting will be saved. I would also think about moving your OS over as well on a separate one in the future. Your computer will boot amazingly quick. As for now tho moving CLOD over will work great.
    Last edited by ATAG_Ribbs; Jan-27-2020 at 12:08.
    Cheers
    Ribbs

INTEL I5 4670 /16 MB DDR3/ MSI Z97 PCMATE MB
    MSI GTX 1060 3 GIG
    WIN 7 64
    MS Sidewinder 2 precision pro Saitek x52 throttle quadrant

By ATAG_Lewis

3. Likes Little Bill liked this post
    Post Thanks / Like
    Total Downloaded
    127.26 MB

I have done this multiple times and never had a problem.

1. Download and install "Macrium Reflect Free edition" https://www.macrium.com/reflectfree