Results 1 to 9 of 9

Thread: TF#3 Server Custom Skin Option?

  1. #1
    Student Pilot SqnLdrMartin's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2020
    Location
    Shanghai China
    Posts
    17
    Post Thanks / Like
    Total Downloaded
    28.00 MB

    TF#3 Server Custom Skin Option?

    Does TF#3 server turn on the custom skin option?

    Me and my friends cannot see each other's custom skin with local 'custom skin' option on, so maybe the server turns it off?

    Is it possible for the server to turn that option on?

    0F86BE840979857ADF2C72C25B3167F0.jpg

  2. Likes 5th Hellrider liked this post
  3. #2
    ATAG Member ATAG_Flare's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2013
    Location
    Interior BC --> Kingston ON
    Posts
    2,801
    Post Thanks / Like
    Total Downloaded
    383.91 MB

    Re: TF#3 Server Custom Skin Option?

    The server has it off since when someone spawns in with a custom skin it has to load into everyone's cache which can sometimes cause stutters which can be disastrous if you're in the middle of a fight, especially if the skin has a high file size. So most MP servers choose to disable custom skins.

    Best bet for ID is to use the built-in markings. It's not ideal but it works.

  4. Likes ATAG_Snapper, SqnLdrMartin liked this post
  5. #3
    Student Pilot SqnLdrMartin's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2020
    Location
    Shanghai China
    Posts
    17
    Post Thanks / Like
    Total Downloaded
    28.00 MB

    Re: TF#3 Server Custom Skin Option?

    Quote Originally Posted by ATAG_Flare View Post
    The server has it off since when someone spawns in with a custom skin it has to load into everyone's cache which can sometimes cause stutters which can be disastrous if you're in the middle of a fight, especially if the skin has a high file size. So most MP servers choose to disable custom skins.

    Best bet for ID is to use the built-in markings. It's not ideal but it works.
    Thank you for the clear-up!

    Hope that one day we can have it back online again!

  6. Likes ATAG_Flare liked this post
  7. #4
    Supporting Member 9./JG52_J-HAT's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2012
    Location
    Germany
    Posts
    1,367
    Post Thanks / Like
    Blog Entries
    16
    Total Downloaded
    266.37 MB

    Re: TF#3 Server Custom Skin Option?

    Quote Originally Posted by ATAG_Flare View Post
    Best bet for ID is to use the built-in markings. It's not ideal but it works.
    Tbh that‘s an option I‘ve learned to appreciate. It‘s great for squadrons flying together for quick ID.

    In contrast, in BoS there are servers without custom skins. There is no way to know who is who. It is the worst when someone else decides to wear „your wingman’s“ skin and you need to check who is who on radio every single time there is more than one in a dogfight with the same looks.

    And when servers allow it, everyone flying together wanting to ID each other quickly has to have the same skin pre-loaded. It is still better than no custom skins though. This could be a solution for CloD.

    I wish they had some basic default skins and the markings system there too.

    Which brings me to a more relevant point: Why doesn‘t it work in CloD online either when you select any of the skins that come with the game (the ones that are not the aircraft default skins)?
    It always shows the default skin for that aircraft, even though everyone has the ones that are installed with the game.
    i7 13700KF @5.3 Ghz | RTX 4090 526.86 1440p | 32 Gb RAM 6000 | Win10 64 bit | TrackIR 5 | VKB Gunfighter III | MFG Crosswind V2 | Warthog Throttle | Reverb G2 100% SteamVR SS

  8. Likes ATAG_Flare, 5th Hellrider liked this post
  9. #5
    ATAG Member ATAG_Flare's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2013
    Location
    Interior BC --> Kingston ON
    Posts
    2,801
    Post Thanks / Like
    Total Downloaded
    383.91 MB

    Re: TF#3 Server Custom Skin Option?

    Quote Originally Posted by 9./JG52_J-HAT View Post
    Which brings me to a more relevant point: Why doesn‘t it work in CloD online either when you select any of the skins that come with the game (the ones that are not the aircraft default skins)?
    It always shows the default skin for that aircraft, even though everyone has the ones that are installed with the game.
    This is a feature I've always wanted. I think it's because the default skins are "locked away" in the game files but the rest of them are freely editable by anyone in the installation folders. That means that you could delete or change skins, say make them all bright yellow and easy to spot anyone not using the default.

    I would like if all the skins that come with the game could be "locked away" like the default ones so we can use all the different skins that come with the game in MP. Especially for the Battle of Britain 109s there are built-in skins for every single unit which is awesome, but you get the same yellow-nose 109 every time.

  10. Likes 9./JG52_J-HAT liked this post
  11. #6
    Supporting Member 9./JG52_J-HAT's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2012
    Location
    Germany
    Posts
    1,367
    Post Thanks / Like
    Blog Entries
    16
    Total Downloaded
    266.37 MB

    Re: TF#3 Server Custom Skin Option?

    Quote Originally Posted by ATAG_Flare View Post
    I would like if all the skins that come with the game could be "locked away" like the default ones so we can use all the different skins that come with the game in MP. Especially for the Battle of Britain 109s there are built-in skins for every single unit which is awesome, but you get the same yellow-nose 109 every time.
    That is how I assumed it was for all of them, not just the default ones. Indeed, the historical skins are very cool!

    TFS, maybe a feature for a future patch??
    i7 13700KF @5.3 Ghz | RTX 4090 526.86 1440p | 32 Gb RAM 6000 | Win10 64 bit | TrackIR 5 | VKB Gunfighter III | MFG Crosswind V2 | Warthog Throttle | Reverb G2 100% SteamVR SS

  12. #7
    Supporting Member IIJG27Rich's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2013
    Location
    Canada
    Posts
    2,496
    Post Thanks / Like
    Total Downloaded
    370.25 MB

    Re: TF#3 Server Custom Skin Option?

    I like blank custom skins because you can put your number your gruppe or squadron your personal marking if you have one and all anyone sees is the default skin you on the other hand have the custom one for movies. Fully marked custom skins are nice but in the end are just a bother to me unless there is a blank one to go with it like they did all the time on azisbiz......Like so.


    50411444808_1fd5a5965a_b.jpg


    50412181256_e6c6e9f036_b.jpg
    Last edited by IIJG27Rich; Oct-03-2020 at 10:51.

  13. Likes Erpr.Gr.210_Mölders, ATAG_Flare liked this post
  14. #8
    Ace Erpr.Gr.210_Mölders's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2015
    Location
    Italy
    Posts
    2,452
    Post Thanks / Like
    Total Downloaded
    1,002.26 MB

    Re: TF#3 Server Custom Skin Option?

    Quote Originally Posted by ATAG_Flare View Post
    The server has it off since when someone spawns in with a custom skin it has to load into everyone's cache which can sometimes cause stutters which can be disastrous if you're in the middle of a fight, especially if the skin has a high file size. So most MP servers choose to disable custom skins.

    Best bet for ID is to use the built-in markings. It's not ideal but it works.
    Frankly said it's ages that the custom skins are activated on servers like the DangerDogz one for example , and there have been never problems about custom skins provoking stutters or other problems. Maybe in the past when PCs were less performant but nowadays I do not thing that enabling custom skins could create big problems. My 2 cents.
    Visit the Robert Mölders Facebook Group ( Left-click on the red link on the left to open the relative page! )
    Visit the Robert Mölders YouTube Channel ( Left-click on the red link on the left to open the relative page! )
    *Important Note: You can also open the Robert Mölders Facebook Group page by clicking directly on my signature image


    My PC specs
    Windows 10 Pro 64 bit ~ Intel Core i7-7700K 4.2GHz 8MB Cache Quad core
    ASUS ROG STRIX Z270H GAMING Motherboard, Socket 1151 ATX, Dual M.2, USB 3.1 Type-C ~ MSI GeForce GTX 1080 TI Gaming X 11G Graphic Card PCIE 3.0, 11 GB, GDDR5X 352 bit, 11.01 GHz, 1569 MHz
    Samsung MZ-V6E250BW SSD 960 EVO, 250 GB, M.2, NVMe ~ Western Digital WD Caviar Blue 2TB 64MB Cache, WD20EZRZ (64MB Cache) ~ Enermax Liqmax II 240 (ELC-LMR240S-BS)
    Corsair CMK16GX4M2B3000C15 Vengeance LPX RAM 16 GB, 2x8 GB, DDR4, 3000 MHz, CL15 ~ EVGA SuperNOVA GQ PSU 750W ~ NZXT CA-N450W-M1 Case for Gaming PC, Black
    LG 49UK6200PLA TV 49" 4K UltraHD, IPS Display, 4096 x 2160, Active HDR, Multitasking ~ LG 27UD68P Monitor 27" 4K UltraHD LED IPS, 3840 x 2160, AMD FreeSync, Multitasking
    Thrustmaster T.16000M FCS Joystick ~ Thrustmaster TWCS Throttle ~ Thrustmaster TFRP Pedals

  15. #9
    ATAG Member ATAG_Flare's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2013
    Location
    Interior BC --> Kingston ON
    Posts
    2,801
    Post Thanks / Like
    Total Downloaded
    383.91 MB

    Re: TF#3 Server Custom Skin Option?

    Quote Originally Posted by Erpr.Gr.210_Belial View Post
    Frankly said it's ages that the custom skins are activated on servers like the DangerDogz one for example , and there have been never problems about custom skins provoking stutters or other problems. Maybe in the past when PCs were less performant but nowadays I do not thing that enabling custom skins could create big problems. My 2 cents.
    We did some tests (in 4.5) with high server numbers with AI raids and there could be bad stuttering with 80+ online.

    However I do say we are not frequently seeing these numbers that often so maybe we could enable custom skins? I'll ask in our internal forums if it's possible.

  16. Likes Erpr.Gr.210_Mölders liked this post

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •