Results 1 to 9 of 9

Thread: decluttering main screen and device outputs

  1. #1
    ATAG Member ATAG_JackMaxx's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2017
    Location
    Dublin
    Posts
    430
    Post Thanks / Like
    Total Downloaded
    1.23 GB

    decluttering main screen and device outputs

    Hi ,
    Is it possible using the device output used by virtual cockpit to output the console information and the engine info windows to a seperate monitor/window, I am shortly going to be using an OLED tv as main monitor and I am worried that the engine info window may cause burn in as it has some static display. also if possible it would be a significant inprovement to have the main screen decluttered. Is it something TFS would consider worth working on.
    Don't let Grudges fester and poison your future happiness......get your revenge as quickly as possible.

  2. Likes ATAG_Oskar, ATAG_Snapper, Rostic liked this post
  3. #2
    Ace Rostic's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2015
    Posts
    1,671
    Post Thanks / Like
    Total Downloaded
    9.73 MB

    Re: decluttering main screen and device outputs

    Quote Originally Posted by ATAG_JackMaxx View Post
    Hi ,
    Is it possible using the device output used by virtual cockpit to output the console information and the engine info windows to a seperate monitor/window, I am shortly going to be using an OLED tv as main monitor and I am worried that the engine info window may cause burn in as it has some static display. also if possible it would be a significant inprovement to have the main screen decluttered. Is it something TFS would consider worth working on.
    Yep. Will be nice. But another solution for this simply to add KEY that will toggle visibility of infowindows (just like in BoX).
    Intel Core i7 8700K 3.7Ghz, DDR4 16Gb 2666Mhz, Asus Prime Z370-A, ADATA XPG SX8200 240Gb (PCIe Gen3x4), RTX 2060 6Gb

  4. #3
    Supporting Member Baffin's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2013
    Location
    Northwestern Virginia, USA
    Posts
    1,864
    Post Thanks / Like
    Total Downloaded
    127.26 MB

    Re: decluttering main screen and device outputs

    I assume you will buy an "LG" brand OLED TV. If so, it comes with a utility that removes screen "Burn in" which works very well on my unit. I also recommend using "DesktopOK", a freeware program from

    http://www.softwareok.com/?seite=Download

    This little freeware has a host of features including one which will "Blank" the screen after a period of inactivity to reduce burn-in.

    It's most famous for remembering your desktop icon array so you can reset it if you accidentally mess it up.

    It's an all-round great utility with many features.
    Windows 10 Pro 64-bit, ASUS TUF X299 MARK 1 (LGA 2066 R4), 2x 1 TB Samsung M.2 SSD 970/960 EVO. Intel Core i7 7800X, overclocked CPU: 4.4 GHz, using TPUII BIOS feature. Air Cooling (GPU:<70°/CPU:<80°) with Hyper 212 Cooler w/ 2 fans. 32.0GB RAM at 2772MHz (16-17-17-36), LG 55" 4K OLEDC7P TV, 2-way SLI using NVIDIA GeForce GTX 1080 Ti's (MSI) overclocked: +62/+350 (MSI Afterburner) using NVIDIA color settings: Highest-8bpc/YCbCr444-Limited. Realtek High Definition Audio, Sony Surround amp w/ optical cable for 5.1 speakers, Ear Buds from Motherboard for Discord/TeamSpeak3. ASUS Blu-Ray drive BW-12B1ST, TrackIR5, Buttkicker Gamer 2, Thrustmaster Warthog, 2x Saitek X-52 (Trims & Gear), Thrustmaster TPR Pendular Rudder Pedals. Voice Activated Controls.

  5. Likes ATAG_JackMaxx liked this post
  6. #4
    Admin ATAG_Snapper's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2011
    Location
    Kitchener, Ontario, Canada
    Posts
    10,790
    Post Thanks / Like
    Total Downloaded
    206.59 MB

    Re: decluttering main screen and device outputs

    Quote Originally Posted by Rostic View Post
    Yep. Will be nice. But another solution for this simply to add KEY that will toggle visibility of infowindows (just like in BoX).
    This sounds interesting!

    How is this done?


    i7 4770K @3.5 GHZ, 24 Gigs DDR3 1600 DIMM, Gigabyte GTX980ti 6 Gig, Win 10 64 bit, TrackIR 5, TM16000 joystick, TM Warthog HOTAS, CH Quadrant, Saitek Pro Combat rudder pedals

  7. #5
    Ace Rostic's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2015
    Posts
    1,671
    Post Thanks / Like
    Total Downloaded
    9.73 MB

    Re: decluttering main screen and device outputs

    Quote Originally Posted by ATAG_Snapper View Post
    This sounds interesting!

    How is this done?
    In IL2 BoX you just press H to swith off HUD so all texts and icons disapear. When you pess H again all info windows become visible.

    I beleave that this feature can be added in Cliffs in about 2-4 hours of coding and debugging
    Intel Core i7 8700K 3.7Ghz, DDR4 16Gb 2666Mhz, Asus Prime Z370-A, ADATA XPG SX8200 240Gb (PCIe Gen3x4), RTX 2060 6Gb

  8. Likes ATAG_Snapper liked this post
  9. #6
    Supporting Member 9./JG52_J-HAT's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2012
    Location
    Germany
    Posts
    923
    Post Thanks / Like
    Blog Entries
    16
    Total Downloaded
    0

    Re: decluttering main screen and device outputs

    Yeah, that would be a great thing.

    There‘s even two levels of that in BoS. Within your „technochat“ there is the speedbar which you can turn on and off and still leave the chat, engine / systems and damage messages on.

    The speed bar is a feature that has been asked for in the bugtracker.

    Ideally we would be able to also turn chat on/off (like we do with the score table in CloD) independently. This is an option in DCS.
    i5 10850k @5.0 Ghz | RTX 3080 | 64 Gb RAM | Win10 64 bit | TrackIR 5 | VKB Gunfighter III | MFG Crosswind | Warthog Throttle | Reverb G2

  10. Likes Rostic liked this post
  11. #7
    Ace Rostic's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2015
    Posts
    1,671
    Post Thanks / Like
    Total Downloaded
    9.73 MB

    Re: decluttering main screen and device outputs

    Quote Originally Posted by 9./JG52_J-HAT View Post
    Yeah, that would be a great thing.

    There‘s even two levels of that in BoS. Within your „technochat“ there is the speedbar which you can turn on and off and still leave the chat, engine / systems and damage messages on.

    The speed bar is a feature that has been asked for in the bugtracker.

    Ideally we would be able to also turn chat on/off (like we do with the score table in CloD) independently. This is an option in DCS.
    Toggling visibility of infowindows is also on TFS bugtracker. I wish one day at least toggling visibility of all infowindows by single button will be implemented.
    Intel Core i7 8700K 3.7Ghz, DDR4 16Gb 2666Mhz, Asus Prime Z370-A, ADATA XPG SX8200 240Gb (PCIe Gen3x4), RTX 2060 6Gb

  12. #8
    Admin ATAG_Snapper's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2011
    Location
    Kitchener, Ontario, Canada
    Posts
    10,790
    Post Thanks / Like
    Total Downloaded
    206.59 MB

    Re: decluttering main screen and device outputs

    Quote Originally Posted by Rostic View Post
    Toggling visibility of infowindows is also on TFS bugtracker. I wish one day at least toggling visibility of all infowindows by single button will be implemented.
    Found it: https://www.tfbt.nuvturais.de/issues/1271

    Upvoted.


    i7 4770K @3.5 GHZ, 24 Gigs DDR3 1600 DIMM, Gigabyte GTX980ti 6 Gig, Win 10 64 bit, TrackIR 5, TM16000 joystick, TM Warthog HOTAS, CH Quadrant, Saitek Pro Combat rudder pedals

  13. Likes Rostic liked this post
  14. #9
    Supporting Member 9./JG52_J-HAT's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2012
    Location
    Germany
    Posts
    923
    Post Thanks / Like
    Blog Entries
    16
    Total Downloaded
    0

    Re: decluttering main screen and device outputs

    Just realized while trying to upvote it that I had already voted for it
    i5 10850k @5.0 Ghz | RTX 3080 | 64 Gb RAM | Win10 64 bit | TrackIR 5 | VKB Gunfighter III | MFG Crosswind | Warthog Throttle | Reverb G2

  15. Likes ATAG_Snapper, Rostic liked this post

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •