Results 1 to 29 of 29

Thread: Third party campaigns went missing after latest fix...again.

  1. #1
    Supporting Member Blitzen's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2013
    Location
    Seattle,Washington
    Posts
    708
    Post Thanks / Like
    Total Downloaded
    6.27 GB

    Third party campaigns went missing after latest fix...again.

    Recently all my third party campaigns went AWOL. I still have stock campaigns so I figured that the campaign.ini file had changed with the fix,& yes, it had.So I went in and added ( as I have done before from a saved version of the ini file,) all the missing entries in the hopefully correct order in both the Steam/CloD/ Parts/ BoB/Mission/ Campaign folder. After this didn't solve the problem I did the same in the Documents/1C SoftClub /Mission folder.Still no joy. There was one more ( probably misplaced ,and probably unnecessary folder )in Steam..../Clod/Mission Mission/ Campaign. Still the only things that show up are stock campaigns. I've reinstalled the game & redone all of the above,still no luck I'm at my wits end...what is the proper way to get everything working again????
    Attached Images Attached Images

  2. #2
    Team Fusion Artist's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Posts
    2,546
    Post Thanks / Like
    Total Downloaded
    319.55 MB

    Re: Third party campaigns went missingafter latest fix...again.

    Look section on campaigns in Mission Builder's Manual. The integration for third party campaigns was separated from the stock campaigns at 5.0 release last year - to avoid just this situation.
    Last edited by Artist; Oct-26-2021 at 17:52.

  3. #3
    Supporting Member Blitzen's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2013
    Location
    Seattle,Washington
    Posts
    708
    Post Thanks / Like
    Total Downloaded
    6.27 GB

    Re: Third party campaigns went missingafter latest fix...again.

    Quote Originally Posted by Artist View Post
    Look section on campaigns in Mission Builder's Manual. The integration for third party campaigns was separated from the stock campaigns at 5.0 release last year - to avoid just this situation.
    If I understand this manual correctly these third party campaigne will only go in the Document___1c Softclub/Mission /( new folder0) Custom/Campaign folder or perhaps just in the "Custom " folder with no need for the aditional 'campaign" folder at all.Leave all things in the Steam /Clod Blitz folder alone..that is stock?

  4. #4
    Ace 1lokos's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2012
    Posts
    5,267
    Post Thanks / Like
    Total Downloaded
    989.85 MB

    Re: Third party campaigns went missingafter latest fix...again.

    Inside Steam folder should have only the oficial campaigns:

    Parts1.jpg

    Parts2.jpg

    Any other third part campaign should goes for

    Documents\1C SoftClub\il-2 sturmovik cliffs of dover\mission\campaign\

    Campaings-3rd.part.jpg

    If you insist in broken this simple rule, when TF release updates, new oficial campaigns... the campaign.ini in Steam... folder will be overwrite and your 3rd part campaigns "disappear".

    BTW - Unfortunately people still advising put third part campaigns in wrong folder:

    https://forum.il2sturmovik.com/topic...aigns-updated/
    Last edited by 1lokos; Oct-26-2021 at 19:21.

  5. #5
    Supporting Member Blitzen's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2013
    Location
    Seattle,Washington
    Posts
    708
    Post Thanks / Like
    Total Downloaded
    6.27 GB

    Re: Third party campaigns went missingafter latest fix...again.

    Quote Originally Posted by 1lokos View Post
    Inside Steam folder should have only the oficial campaigns:

    Parts1.jpg

    Parts2.jpg

    Any other third part campaign should goes for

    Documents\1C SoftClub\il-2 sturmovik cliffs of dover\mission\campaign\

    Campaings-3rd.part.jpg

    If you insist in broken this simple rule, when TF release updates, new oficial campaigns... the campaign.ini in Steam... folder will be overwrite and your 3rd part campaigns "disappear".

    BTW - Unfortunately people still advising put third part campaigns in wrong folder:

    https://forum.il2sturmovik.com/topic...aigns-updated/

    Have cleared the Stem /CloD folder of third party missions.Have done verify local files.Have added a simple list of third party missions to Missions/Custom in 1C Softclub folder as pictured below.Still they don't show up in game play...certainly I'm missing one crucial step somewhere, but what?
    Attached Images Attached Images

  6. #6
    Ace 1lokos's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2012
    Posts
    5,267
    Post Thanks / Like
    Total Downloaded
    989.85 MB

    Re: Third party campaigns went missingafter latest fix...again.

    Probable in campaign.ini check the instructions there:

    https://forum.il2sturmovik.com/topic...dor-campaigns/

  7. Likes Dauntless liked this post
  8. #7
    Team Fusion Artist's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Posts
    2,546
    Post Thanks / Like
    Total Downloaded
    319.55 MB

    Re: Third party campaigns went missingafter latest fix...again.

    I've provided a working Sample Campaign: https://www.team-fusion-simulations....link=32#item32

    Dropped into <UserDocuments>\1C SoftClub\il-2 sturmovik cliffs of dover\mission\campaign\custom\ it should work out of the box (it does here).

    Compare your not working custom campaign's folder and file structure and its ini file's content with the sample's - maybe you can easily spot the problem. Especially check the ini files for refering to non-existing campaigns, folders, or files.

  9. #8
    Supporting Member Blitzen's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2013
    Location
    Seattle,Washington
    Posts
    708
    Post Thanks / Like
    Total Downloaded
    6.27 GB

    Re: Third party campaigns went missingafter latest fix...again.

    The last thing I tried was to use the updated package of third party campaign ( recommended in an earlier post, )complete with campaign.ini. as shown below.They still don't show up in game.
    Attached Images Attached Images

  10. #9
    Team Fusion Artist's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Posts
    2,546
    Post Thanks / Like
    Total Downloaded
    319.55 MB

    Re: Third party campaigns went missingafter latest fix...again.

    I see there are the stock campaigns mixed into it ...

    I'd recommend a systematic approach:

    Take one campaign, one only. Edit the campaigns.ini to contain/reference that one only.

    If it does not work, check all the ini files against the SampleCampaign.
    Last edited by Artist; Oct-27-2021 at 15:17.

  11. #10
    Supporting Member Blitzen's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2013
    Location
    Seattle,Washington
    Posts
    708
    Post Thanks / Like
    Total Downloaded
    6.27 GB

    Re: Third party campaigns went missingafter latest fix...again.

    Quote Originally Posted by Artist View Post
    I see there are the stock campaigns mixed into it ...

    I'd recommend a systematic approach:

    Take one campaogn, one only. Edit the campaigns.ini to contain/reference that one only.

    If it does not work, check all the ini files against the SampleCampaign.
    I am slowly coming to the same conclusion....

  12. #11
    Supporting Member Blitzen's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2013
    Location
    Seattle,Washington
    Posts
    708
    Post Thanks / Like
    Total Downloaded
    6.27 GB

    Re: Third party campaigns went missingafter latest fix...again.

    Here's where I am: I edited the custom folder to only three campaigns ....ditto "campaign .ini" as shown below ( haven't tried "Sample campaign " yet but will try later- at this point nothing left to lose ,I guess) but still they don't show up in game . Yes very frustrated...
    Attached Images Attached Images

  13. #12
    Team Fusion Artist's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Posts
    2,546
    Post Thanks / Like
    Total Downloaded
    319.55 MB

    Re: Third party campaigns went missingafter latest fix...again.

    Strange, I see nothing wrong. Could you please just use the Sample Campaign and check if *that* shows?

  14. #13
    Supporting Member Blitzen's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2013
    Location
    Seattle,Washington
    Posts
    708
    Post Thanks / Like
    Total Downloaded
    6.27 GB

    Re: Third party campaigns went missingafter latest fix...again.

    Ok as you see below- the sample campaign is LOADED , BUT NO SHOW IN GAME...
    So what do you think -uninstal & reinstall through Steam & see if anything changes? Does it do anything in the 1CSoftclub folder?
    Attached Images Attached Images

  15. #14
    Team Fusion Artist's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Posts
    2,546
    Post Thanks / Like
    Total Downloaded
    319.55 MB

    Re: Third party campaigns went missingafter latest fix...again.

    Quote Originally Posted by Blitzen View Post
    Ok as you see below- the sample campaign is LOADED , BUT NO SHOW IN GAME...
    So what do you think -uninstal & reinstall through Steam & see if anything changes? Does it do anything in the 1CSoftclub folder?
    No, wait.

    Too late here. What timezone are you in? GMT relative, please.

  16. #15
    Supporting Member Blitzen's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2013
    Location
    Seattle,Washington
    Posts
    708
    Post Thanks / Like
    Total Downloaded
    6.27 GB

    Re: Third party campaigns went missingafter latest fix...again.

    iI think the whole folder of 1C Softclub /CloD is somehow disabled. First of all nothing gets filed after a mission in "Cache"- it remains empty. Second if I disable the1CSoftclub folder , the game works anyhow.Third with the CloD folder disabled & doing an uninstall & reinstall thru Steam, I don't get any change in the 1C Softclub / folder(s). I can only assume its just not working but I have no idea how to change or replace it.

  17. #16
    Ace 1lokos's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2012
    Posts
    5,267
    Post Thanks / Like
    Total Downloaded
    989.85 MB

    Re: Third party campaigns went missingafter latest fix...again.

    I put this example campaign in my game and is show OK in game campaign menu, add the text "ExampleCampaign" in poster image for warranty. Other than this just extract the files for foder in Documents\1C SoftClub...

    ExampleCampaing.jpg

    After select the first mission "custom.ExampleCampaign.state" was created correct in "Custom" folder root.

    A curious thing is, I rename the old campaign.ini and put a new, with just this lines:

    Code:
    [Main]
    ExampleCampaign
    
    [ExampleCampaign]
    folder ExampleCampaign
    image campaign-poster.bmp
    But other 3rd party campaigns continue to show in menu.
    Last edited by 1lokos; Oct-29-2021 at 00:43.

  18. #17
    Student Pilot
    Join Date
    Mar 2014
    Posts
    15
    Post Thanks / Like
    Total Downloaded
    48.65 MB

    Re: Third party campaigns went missingafter latest fix...again.

    I had the same problem. I installed all of the third party campaigns in the custom folder and made sure the campaign.ini was correct. Some of the campaigns showed up in game and some did not. I copied the campaign folders into the parts/bob folder with the correct campaign.ini file and now all the campaigns show up in game. I am using the ds fix that has the modified .exe file,but I don't think that has any effect

    Edit: When I start a new campaign the .state file is created in the 1csoftclub/.../.../campaign folder.
    Last edited by Stolle; Oct-29-2021 at 19:37. Reason: for clarification

  19. #18
    Ace 1lokos's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2012
    Posts
    5,267
    Post Thanks / Like
    Total Downloaded
    989.85 MB

    Re: Third party campaigns went missingafter latest fix...again.

    Quote Originally Posted by Stolle View Post
    Some of the campaigns showed up in game and some did not.
    This happens because these that don't show have divergences in names in campaign.ini file, probable between Main and description bellow, or between these names and campaigns folder name.

    copied the campaign folders into the parts/bob folder
    Problem is that eventually the campaign.ini there can be overwrite and access broken.

    BTW- Leave DesasterSoft campaign in their original places, inside Steam folder.
    Last edited by 1lokos; Oct-30-2021 at 17:16.

  20. #19
    Ace 1lokos's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2012
    Posts
    5,267
    Post Thanks / Like
    Total Downloaded
    989.85 MB

    Re: Third party campaigns went missingafter latest fix...again.

    Quote Originally Posted by 1lokos View Post

    A curious thing is, I rename the old campaign.ini and put a new, with just this lines:

    Code:
    [Main]
    ExampleCampaign
    
    [ExampleCampaign]
    folder ExampleCampaign
    image campaign-poster.bmp
    But other 3rd party campaigns continue to show in menu.
    Understand what happens. I have more than one .ini in root of Custom folder, game read all.
    What means that you can have one campaign.ini per campaign if want. EDIT - of course, with different names.

    Campaigns.jpg
    Last edited by 1lokos; Oct-30-2021 at 17:19.

  21. #20
    Student Pilot
    Join Date
    Mar 2014
    Posts
    15
    Post Thanks / Like
    Total Downloaded
    48.65 MB

    Re: Third party campaigns went missingafter latest fix...again.

    Thats interesting. So I can make a campaign ini file for each campaign. I will try that.

  22. #21
    Team Fusion Artist's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Posts
    2,546
    Post Thanks / Like
    Total Downloaded
    319.55 MB

    Re: Third party campaigns went missingafter latest fix...again.

    Quote Originally Posted by Stolle View Post
    Thats interesting. So I can make a campaign ini file for each campaign. I will try that.
    Yes, there can be many .ini files within the custom folder. The Mission Builder's Manual did not explicitely state that. It now does.

  23. #22
    Team Fusion Artist's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Posts
    2,546
    Post Thanks / Like
    Total Downloaded
    319.55 MB

    Re: Third party campaigns went missingafter latest fix...again.

    @Blitzen,

    Quote Originally Posted by Blitzen View Post
    Ok as you see below- the sample campaign is LOADED , BUT NO SHOW IN GAME...
    What do you mean with it is loaded - when it does not show in game? I'm confused.

    I cannot see in screenshot - the mission\campaign\custom folder is under <MyDocuments>\1C SoftClub\il-2 sturmovik cliffs of dover, right?
    Last edited by Artist; Oct-31-2021 at 06:04.

  24. #23
    Supporting Member Blitzen's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2013
    Location
    Seattle,Washington
    Posts
    708
    Post Thanks / Like
    Total Downloaded
    6.27 GB

    Re: Third party campaigns went missingafter latest fix...again.

    Completely cleaned up CloD DWTinstall- found 3 copies of 1C Softclub folders around various drives,deleted them and kept the only working on in C:/ Users/Documents. Then I installed the simple suggest campaign in a custom folder ( as shown below.) Everything should now work right? Wrong still no joy...What gives?
    Deep Breath after one llast uninstall & reinstall it all seems to work...again. Mark this case SOLVED!
    Attached Images Attached Images
    Last edited by Blitzen; Nov-06-2021 at 15:15.

  25. Likes danperin, RAF74_Buzzsaw, Artist, Dauntless liked this post
  26. #24
    Supporting Member Blitzen's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2013
    Location
    Seattle,Washington
    Posts
    708
    Post Thanks / Like
    Total Downloaded
    6.27 GB

    Re: Third party campaigns went missingafter latest fix...again.

    You cannot imagine how sad I am to have to come back to this subject & wonder whether it might be worth a new fresh posting...but in a nutshell, the sample campaign worked as a test , but then it didn't esp when I tried a simple install in Documents/1C SoftClub/Clod/campaigns/custom as you can see below. I can only hope someone can tell what I've done wrong. I'd like to finally get this straightened out before we all enter the brave new world of VR.I have at least a half a dozen + third party campaigns , including one with Blemheims (!) that I'd love to have up & operating again. Believe me I'm sorry to be here again, but I do hope with your help ,I will solve this once and for all.
    Attached Images Attached Images

  27. #25
    Supporting Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2019
    Location
    Yorkshire
    Posts
    135
    Post Thanks / Like
    Total Downloaded
    1.39 GB

    Re: Third party campaigns went missingafter latest fix...again.

    Hi,

    I'm not sure if it's the campaign you are referring to, but for the third campaign in your list the name is not the same as in the entry further down below, nor is either entry the same as the folder name itself. You will see that for the other two campaigns they are all the same.

    campaign-32_Squadron >>>>>>>>>>>Hyphen after campaign, other entries have underscore

    campaign_campaign_32_Squadron >>>>Two instances of 'campaign_'

    campaign_campaign_32 Squadron >>>> No underscore after 32

    32_Squadron >>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>This is the folder name - does not match any of the above



    It's been a while since I added campaigns, but I think these differences will cause a problem. Ignore me if I have mis-understood the problem you have!

    Regards,

    M
    Last edited by Marcost; Nov-11-2021 at 11:58.

  28. #26
    Supporting Member Blitzen's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2013
    Location
    Seattle,Washington
    Posts
    708
    Post Thanks / Like
    Total Downloaded
    6.27 GB

    Re: Third party campaigns went missingafter latest fix...again.

    Stay tuned I'll give your recommendation a try , or just simplfy the number of additions in "?Custom"

  29. #27
    Supporting Member Blitzen's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2013
    Location
    Seattle,Washington
    Posts
    708
    Post Thanks / Like
    Total Downloaded
    6.27 GB

    Re: Third party campaigns went missingafter latest fix...again.

    I tried thye easiest fix i could by removing the 32 Squadron Campaign( see below) I checked local files And then reloaded the game through Steam and played it...unfortunately the two campaigns still didn't show up...
    Attached Images Attached Images

  30. #28
    Team Fusion Artist's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Posts
    2,546
    Post Thanks / Like
    Total Downloaded
    319.55 MB

    Re: Third party campaigns went missing after latest fix...again.

    Where does the "battleIndex0" under [main] comes from? It should not be there if there's no corresponding entry "[battleIndex0]" later in the file.

    See the Mission Builder's Manual, Chapter "Campaigns"

  31. #29
    Supporting Member Blitzen's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2013
    Location
    Seattle,Washington
    Posts
    708
    Post Thanks / Like
    Total Downloaded
    6.27 GB

    Re: Third party campaigns went missing after latest fix...again.

    Quote Originally Posted by Artist View Post
    Where does the "battleIndex0" under [main] comes from? It should not be there if there's no corresponding entry "[battleIndex0]" later in the file.

    See the Mission Builder's Manual, Chapter "Campaigns"
    This was included in a download of third party missions found here .It was also suggested in another postingt thread.In any case it doesn't matter if it is in the ini or not.Still no third party missions.
    ( Does anyone know if the Windows 11 upgrade coulsd have any effect on the Documents folder? I'm grasping at straws here...)

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •