Thread: Joining the game!

Post Thanks / Like
    Total Downloaded
    460.85 MB

Joining the game!

Good day everybody!

I have been around since my Christmas leave i.e. about five weeks. I have not written here before because I did not see this thread at all to begin with. I will turn 59 years this year. I have no connection to aeroplanes in my real life with the one exception: I still tend to build those marvelous scale models (1:72 and 1:35) which I have been building since 1969. It means that I have built at least a couple of hundreds of Spitfires, Me 109:s, Zeros, Stukas, Hurricanes etc. I have also built roughly fifty submarines. None of them worked and most of them were just toys made of wood for myself, my younger brother and later for my own sons.

Decades ago my aunt once flattered me praising one wooden U-Boot (VII C). I had built it from scratch and it looked just good, but it was not very detailed. It was a playable toy, not a showpiece. Nobody would really praise that kind of a model. But she did and in addition she said, that she would be delighted in having such a thing on her bookshelf. I think that I was thirteen years old or so and I decided to take her words seriously. So I built one U-boot for her (something like 20 cm long). I made it from scratch. I used a few weeks to finish it and then I gave it to her as a surprise gift.

It was a good lesson for her NOT to be too polite. She has that U-boot on her bookshelf even today and obviously it is not that kind of decoration, which a lady like she would like to have. But since she praised me once for that, now she pays for it and feels obliged to keep the U-boot on the bookshelf. She has never flattered me again. Ha-ha!