Thread: New to IL-2

Post Thanks / Like
    Total Downloaded
    29.54 MB

New to IL-2

Hello all, I'm new to IL-2. My late brother used to play online a lot until he got too sick to sit at the computer for any length of time and whenever I used to see him he would always fire up the game and watch me fail miserably for a few hours, a lifelong love of flight sims is something we both shared since the days of the Psion Flight Simulator on the Sinclair Spectrum.

Well, recently I managed to get my hands on an old, but reasonably high spec laptop that can just about run IL-2 (the graphics card is woefully inadequate on complex missions which tend to chug) so I thought I would install IL-2 Cliffs of Dover and have a play. Well, I'm hooked.

Yes my flight skills are appalling, I have little idea what to press or why, however I do like to tinker and struggle with using a keyboard (trying to remember what key does what for the main functions is a pain) so I built this little console based on the Arduino Micro which uses some toggle, pushbutton and encoder type controls. The display does light up so I can play when the lights are dimmed at night as it runs off two cr2032 batteries rather than sucking power through the USB (The arduino can't really handle too much current itself, a few mA).

I just wondered whether any of you guys have made similar and what controls you would swap or change? I'm looking forward to going through the posts to read about the game and, perhaps if my flying or PC improves, seeing some of you online.

I think some form of head tracking or rudder pedals will be my next project - any tips on that appreciated!

20220516_154958.jpg.fbff438beb2f9bb739f2a77de6b76f68.jpg
    Last edited by MorsKochanski; May-26-2022 at 11:22.

Post Thanks / Like
    Total Downloaded
    271.40 MB

Re: New to IL-2