Results 1 to 9 of 9

Thread: Plane Loadout Configurations

  1. #1
    Admin ATAG_Snapper's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2011
    Location
    Kitchener, Ontario, Canada
    Posts
    11,617
    Post Thanks / Like
    Total Downloaded
    406.29 MB

    Plane Loadout Configurations

    In response to many requests to better enable the player to configure his own weapon loadouts for each aircraft model, Team Fusion have put a lot of work into the current work-in-progress Steam VR Visual Update Beta towards this.

    Below is the change.log taken directly from this beta, followed by two excellent videos by Gunfreak to illustrate how it all works. An added bonus is Gunfreak opted to set his Quick Mission to yield beautiful sunset colours with the gorgeous TrueSKY clouds as a backdrop.
    Thanks, Gunfreak!!

    Change.log:

    PLANE CONFIGURATION

    There are 4 layers of Plane Configuration definitions:

    1. plane-default (what the game pre-defines)
    2. user‑default (what you configure in Options => Plane)
    3. mission‑set (what the mission's creator defined)
    4. user‑set (what you configure for the individual plane you're about to spawn in)

    The final Plane Configuration active when you actually enter the cockpit is the sum of these four applied in exactly that sequence.

    As an example lets take a Spitfire Mk I with 8 guns: plane-default defines all 8 belts. You changed the default belting for gun 1 only, so user‑default contains only a belt for gun 1. The mission builder defined special belts for guns 2 through 7, so the mission‑set contains belts for those 6 guns. The 'sum' of that (level 1, 2, and 3) will be: gun 1 belted from user‑default, guns 2 through 7 belted from mission‑set, and gun 8 belted from plane-default. This is what you see when you enter Plane Configuration just before hitting "Fly" and entering the cockpit. You now decide to reconfigure belt 3, so belt 3 will be belted from user‑set.

    There are some restrictions: In Multiplayer the mission‑set may restrict the "Weapon‑Sets" you are allowed to choose from for user‑set. In Single Player, the mission‑set fixes the Weapon‑Set (including Fuel) and also "Army", "Country", "Type", "Regiment", "Squadron", and "Callsign" - so these are not configurable as user‑set. But by using "Custom" before you start the Singleplayer mission, however, you can choose any of the presets as Weapon‑Set of the respective flight group.

    In the game exist three different scenarios where you can edit Plane Configuration(s), and they behave and effect differently - even if they look very similar.

    (A) Main Menu => Options => Plane
    Page's title says "Plane Default Configuration".
    This is where you configure your user‑default(s) for the planes: These will be saved permanently (user.ini) and applied on top of plane-default to any plane you will spawn in. The configuration you see here is plane-default plus user‑default.

    (B) Single Player, after mission started, before spawning, page "Battle Intro", button "Plane"
    Page's title says "Plane Configuration".
    This is where the you configure the actual, specific plane you're about to spawn in. Any changes you make here are user‑set and valid for this plane in this mission only. The configuration you see here is plane-default plus user‑default plus mission‑set plus user‑set.

    (C) Multiplayer, connected to a server, page "Battle Intro" ("Server Briefing" on self-hosted)
    Page's title says "Configure And Select Plane".
    This is where you select the plane you want to spawn in and you can configure that specific plane-type for the duration of the session. Any changes you make here are user‑set and valid for this plane-type during this server session only. The configuration you see here is plane-default plus user‑default plus mission‑set plus user‑set.

    For completeness' sake, there's also scenario (D): This is when you are actually in the cockpit. In this scenario you can inspect the active configuration, but you cannot change it anymore. In Single Player you reach this with <Esc>, Options => Plane; In Multiplayer you reach this with <Esc>, button "Plane".

    The "Presets" you can create, load, and delete in "Weapon sets", "Guns", and "Bomb fuzes" are always editable and saved immediately. Loading a preset is subject to possible restrictions from the mission‑set, e.g. not possible for "Weapon sets" in a Single Player mission.

    Two small "exceptions from the rule":
    - Gun convergence is not part of gun-presets and is not available as mission‑set
    - Fuel (in "Weapon sets") is exempt from user‑default, it only exists as plane-default, mission‑set, and user‑set.





    HP Omen Laptop 15, AMD Ryzen 5 5600H 16 GB DDR4 RAM, NVIDIA GeForce RTX 3060 Laptop GPU 6 GB VRAM Win 11 64 bit 22H2 (KB5020044), Nvidia GeForce Driver ver 527.56, TrackIR 5, Gear Falcon Trim Box, Gear Falcon Throttle Quadrant, TM16000 joystick, TM Warthog HOTAS, CH Quadrant, Saitek Pro Combat rudder pedals
    VR: None
    Installation path: C:\Program Files (x86)\Steam\steamapps\common\IL-2 Sturmovik Cliffs of Dover Blitz

  2. #2
    Supporting Member IIJG27Rich's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2013
    Location
    Canada
    Posts
    2,481
    Post Thanks / Like
    Total Downloaded
    370.25 MB

    Re: Plane Loadout Configurations

    Very good Also Apeoftheyear has a video on his channel of all different ammo loads. One is of an E1. I couldn't believe the difference a custom selection made. Little machine guns tearing into aeroplanes and really doing damage
    Last edited by IIJG27Rich; Jul-01-2023 at 18:11.

  3. Likes major_setback liked this post
  4. #3
    Team Fusion major_setback's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2013
    Posts
    2,706
    Post Thanks / Like
    Blog Entries
    2
    Total Downloaded
    685.65 MB

    Re: Plane Loadout Configurations

    Quote Originally Posted by IIJG27Rich View Post
    Very good Also Apeoftheyear has a video on his channel of all different ammo loads. One is of an E1. I couldn't believe the difference a custom selection made. Little machine guns tearing into aeroplanes and really doing damage

    Thanks! Link to that video you mentioned:

    https://youtu.be/uaM5jFf5omo
    http://theairtacticalassaultgroup.com/forum/image.php?type=sigpic&userid=2673&dateline=1390351127

    Principle skinner
    .

  5. Likes Dauntless, IIJG27Rich liked this post
  6. #4
    Supporting Member IIJG27Rich's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2013
    Location
    Canada
    Posts
    2,481
    Post Thanks / Like
    Total Downloaded
    370.25 MB

    Re: Plane Loadout Configurations

    Yes that's it

  7. #5
    Veteran Combat pilot
    Join Date
    May 2023
    Posts
    250
    Post Thanks / Like
    Total Downloaded
    19.8 KB

    Re: Plane Loadout Configurations

    I am probably misunderstanding something but I seem unable to change fuel levels for single player missions (quick or single) other than the mission editor.

    If I add a weapons loadout in Options>Plane it gives me a fuel loadout I cannot change (lower then 100%)

    I go to the Quick or Single mission menu and can select this new weapons loadout in Custom for my chosen plane

    Then I go into Briefing Info>Player Plane and it shows the weapon loadout as default, 100% fuel and I can't change it
    AMD 5800X3D · MSI 4080 · Asus ROG Strix B550 Gaming · HP Reverb Pro · 1Tb M.2 NVMe, 32Gb Corsair Vengence 3600MHz DDR4 · Windows 10 & 11 dual boot · Thrustmaster TPR Pedals · VIRPIL T-50CM3 Base, Warthog Stick, Warthog Throttle, Logitech Quadrant, JetSeat

  8. #6
    Team Fusion Artist's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Posts
    2,847
    Post Thanks / Like
    Total Downloaded
    319.55 MB

    Re: Plane Loadout Configurations

    No, you do not misunderstand something, your observation is quite correct: Fuel is not part of a preset and it only exists as plane-default, as mission-set in single player, and as user-set in multiplayer (where's no mission-set).

  9. #7
    Student Pilot
    Join Date
    Feb 2020
    Posts
    5
    Post Thanks / Like
    Total Downloaded
    0

    Re: Plane Loadout Configurations

    This went a little over my head. Is the result of this that you will now be able to change your convergence and loadout for single, quick and campaign missions?

  10. #8
    Team Fusion Artist's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Posts
    2,847
    Post Thanks / Like
    Total Downloaded
    319.55 MB

    Re: Plane Loadout Configurations

    Quote Originally Posted by AirMule View Post
    This went a little over my head. Is the result of this that you will now be able to change your convergence and loadout for single, quick and campaign missions?
    Short answer: Yes.

    Long Answer: Still yes ;-). And any changes you made inside the mission will reset back to your defaults after you exited the mission. You can change the mentioned 'your defaults' in Main Menu => Options => Plane.

  11. Likes RAF74_Buzzsaw liked this post
  12. #9
    Student Pilot
    Join Date
    Feb 2020
    Posts
    5
    Post Thanks / Like
    Total Downloaded
    0

    Re: Plane Loadout Configurations

    That's good enough for me! Great news! Thanks!

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •